You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fishes: What are fishes and how do they survive underwater?

in #steemstem6 years ago

Oh @mr-aaron I wish I had this post of yours a few years back when I was having a "language-discussion" with an american friend of mine. I was teasing him about how "poor" the English language is (of course, this is far from the truth). Among the examples I used were 'star-fish and jelly-fish'.

Lo and behold he didn't know that those creatures are not fish! He was not happy 😂 he ended up cursing his parents and teachers. Well, in the end we were all laughing!

By the way, this also made me giggle:

Seahorses are not horses that live in water.

And I wish I had thought of this example to tease my friend even more! :P

I wish you all the best my dear.
Time to turn the computer off over here! ;)
bye, bye for now.

Sort:  

I think we have all been scammed, how the heck is star-fish not a fish? :)

And a seahorse not a horse! 😲 :P
You have a wonderful evening :*
Bye, bye for now.

Bye for now. I think I need a refund from my English language teacher :)

I think we all need the refund. I realized only recently when I started studying fish.

Wow, let's jointly apply for that refund :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Hehe, I'll gladly go for a refund of most of my formal education if possible

Posted using Partiko Android

😂 so many people don't know starfish and jelly fish are not fish. And for the seahorse, I'm sure they are not horses.
Thanks for taking time to read my post.
Take care

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66945.54
ETH 3515.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71