You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is Diabetes??

in #steemstem7 years ago (edited)

Great post @justincottle! :) So, let me just check if I got this right as for diabetes mellitus : The pancreas is still producing insulin, BUT the cells are no longer responding to its signals? Did I get this right?

I am looking forward to your next posts on this topic. I am very interested in understanding gluconeogenesis , and I am sure you could write about it in a very straight-forward way!

Thanks for sharing this with us!
Best.

Sort:  

Thanks @abigail-dantes! I always appreciate your kind words!

You nailed it though. Type 2 is when the pancreas is still producing insulin, but the the cells aren't "listening". In Type 1, the pancreas isn't producing insulin at all, or if it is, it's at an extremely low rate compared to what's needed.

I would love to write about gluconeogenesis, and everything to do with glucose metabolism! The body's ability to synthesize glucose from muscle and Amino Acids is incredible.

Thanks for the idea!

Thank you for your reply @justincottle. I got it now!
Before reading your post I thought there was no production of insulin in both types of diabetes.
Excellent!
:D

I'm glad it helped! Thanks again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69626.36
ETH 3667.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82