You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Cope with Stress (Part 1)

in #steemstem6 years ago

Oh ... how nice to see you posting again @insight-out! :)

Overall, I am not a stressed person. But, I experienced a lot of stress at the end of 2017/beginning of 2018 , mostly as a consequence of 2 out of the 4 reasons you listed here: Novelty & Unpredictability. I don't deal well with last minute situations or 'surprises'. 😣 I feel I have come a long way, but I also feel there is still a lot of room for improvement!

And because one cannot be prepared or plan every single thing in life, I have my ways to minimize my struggle: 1) I follow a structured daily routine, which allows me to plan most things ahead and not feel pressured by deadlines. 2) I practice Yoga daily (Yoga, in fact is one of my passions). These, I feel are more preventive measures that I implement along a healthy diet, good sleep and quality time with friends and family.

As for when I am caught in the middle of the storm: I go for looong walks, do even longer sessions of Yoga, write, write and write and wait to calm down to voice, or express anything that needs to be said. These strategies helped me greatly at the beginning of this year :)

I trust you & the family are all doing great! 😁

Sort:  

Hey there, Abbi! It is so nice of you to stop by :)

I feel I have come a long way, but I also feel there is still a lot of room for improvement!

I couldn't agree more with you because whenever it comes to personal growth there is always a room for improvement :) I have so many things on my list and dealing with stress better is one of them :) Although, as you said, I have also come a long way.

I do very similar things to what you have listed. I do sports - jogging and tae-bo help me a lot. I tried yoga a couple of times but didn't work for me. Or at least for now :)

I also like long walks, especially if they are in the countryside. When I am under heavy stress I try to do things with my hands like home decoration. It is like a meditation for me :) And I also start to write - it helps me clear my mind and put my thought in order-ish :)

But, I experienced a lot of stress at the end of 2017/beginning of 2018, mostly as a consequence of 2 out of the 4 reasons you listed here: Novelty & Unpredictability.

I think I know what you are talking about. Since the end of 2016 my husband and I have been under a lot of stress due to events one cannot control. These have been the most difficult years in my life. We have made a lot of changes in our lives and I hope things will slowly get back to normal one day :)

Thank you so much for reading and commenting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60767.97
ETH 2352.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51