You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Follower Count Report for Thursday, August 25th

What scares me is the # of accounts vs. the # of account with atleast one post.

Only 1/3 of total accounts have a post. That doesn't seem like a whole lot of participation.

Does that mean we have 10s of thousands of bots. Or 10s of thousands of people that are just invested in steem with their fiat $$$???

Sort:  

It most likely means we have 10s of thousands of people who created accounts (just to reserve their preferred name), but have no interest in investing in yet another social media platform until the network effect is there and their friends ask them, "Hey, are you on Steemit yet?" and they can reply, "Well of course, I created an account way back in August."

I've done it myself on multiple social media platforms. I reserved an account... never found a reason to go back.

As for some investing in steem via their fiat, I have zero problem with that, just as I have no problem with them investing in any other cryptocurrency. A steem account isn't just a social media account, it's also a wallet and, in a sense, a bitcoin address (but for steem).

It could also mean there are 10's of thousands of bots too. :)

I have one of those accounts with no posts. I can't write well and have no time or interest in writing original content. I do value the content provided by others and created an account and purchased a modest amount of steem with bitcoin to be able to upvote and support them.

Creating high quality original content takes a lot of work and is not for everyone! That is where Steemit's model of rewarding curators and people who make comments is so awesome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64439.19
ETH 2775.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64