Sort:  

Wohoo! Thanks for the extra stats. :D

I haven't been able to find a site yet that shows more info about votes. I am sure I am one of the most active voters excluding bots. At least the last 30 days since I have been active. :P
Can you check that somehow?

Replying to your last post here, so you see a notification.

I find it greedy to see people who keep their voting power as high as possible

Greedy is a strong word. I see it as effectively understanding your responsibility as a network influencer and putting your vote where it will make the most difference. I've thought a lot about this, and even hid all the dollar signs for 24 hours to understand it better. If your vote doesn't really impact anything other than increasing a counter (compared to the change in payouts, reputation, etc), that might discouraging.

The other result could also happen where everyone votes with low power votes (as the bots have been doing) and people lose interest in the system because they see 100 votes but very low payouts, which, if we're honest with ourselves, is one of the primary reasons many people are here compared to other networks which don't have the same motivational system built in.

There is a concern about the "famous authors" issue, but it could also just be seen as the 80/20 rule. I don't think that will change any time soon. Also, people can be rewarded for finding new up and coming authors. Popular conversations allow unknown authors to get a huge audience to their ideas and new followers. I love joining popular posts for that reason (and for finding new, excellent thinkers I can follow).

It almost sounds to me you have some judgements on how people should use the site and if financial incentives are involved, that's some how greedy or wrong. Am I reading into that too much? I also care very much about relationships here and, ironically enough, my highest payout post highlighted the importance of not focusing on the money. Just posting with no comments doesn't lead to real relationships and, I think, over time, will not be rewarded (both socially and financially).

Some here believe money is bad. I don't. It's just a tool which, depending on how we use it, reflects our values.

Ah, that's an interesting idea. "Active" might be a misleading concept though. Number of votes alone isn't a good thing, but consistent votes (I've heard 20-30 a day) is. Since voting power decreases, an over-active voter can actually just add noise to the system. Interesting though... it would be cool to see who votes consistently every day in a manner which benefits the network.

I don't really see how voting too much adds "noise" to the system.

I am pretty sure I am one of few who doesn't care much about my voting power and the curation rewards from it. Since I know even trying to effectively vote and make the most from curation rewards is still not a lot compared how much you can make from author rewards, I have been freely voting left and right. Even though I know my votes aren't even worth much, I feel giving votes to new users and comments will at some point drive people to do the same, now with weighted voting it might become even more popular.

I find it greedy to see people who keep their voting power as high as possible, only vote on the "famous authors" or posts that they know will become valued more and join the hivemind. This is counter-productive in so many ways, users don't feel appreciated by the low amount of votes they have gotten (not talking about vote value received here) and it drives them to only comment and vote on posts that they know will become valuable.

Look at danthemans post and how spammed up the thread gets where I can't even get a single answer from him after a whole month. Instead people could direct their attention and votes to someone who is new and trying to make this better in the future.

Don't get me started on users who post 4 posts daily and don't even reply to a single comment or vote in their posts. Use this site as a money grabber and instantly dump it on the market, and users blindly give them their votes cause they get curation rewards for it. Disgusting to say the least. Then looking at the amount of trolls and cancer who have made 5-20x more SP doing just that... makes you wanna question where this platform is headed.

But oh well, not much I can control, just wanted to get my point through, and activity between users is something that should be valued a lot more, in my opinion. Rant over, sorry.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 55825.83
ETH 2516.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28