You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Might a SteemStarter Campaign Look Like?

in #steemstarter6 years ago

I'm excited by this idea. I may have missed an earlier post to which this is a continuation?

Here are some concerns I have of a practical nature:

  • I've noticed in the last couple weeks less interaction on the site. My feed is very light... Presumably this is because of the drop down to around $2, rather than the heady $7-days of yesterweek. Anyway, less people on the site means less people to find and support the project.

  • Most of the current upvotes I get are from minnows that are worth $.01 to $.05. Super appreciative for the love, but it's hard to translate that into a crowdfunding reward. Say you run a campaign for the two weeks and post every day, and the supporter upvotes every one - that's about $.42 (for a 3 cent average).

I like the idea mentioned below about delegation as a possibility - but minnows are in a similar boat here, since they have nothing to delegate.

  • @bryan-imhoff brings up a valid point about having no escrow-type workflow in place. I agree that having specific funding goals and time-cutoffs are important and helpful to motivate action. But if the goal isn't met, it would be a bit disingenuous to pocket what was sent.

I think the public wallet showing an amount raised is a pretty awesome idea (though somewhat beyond my crypto knowledge/ability at the moment). But for that I'm assuming we're talking about transferred SBD/STEEM rather than value of upvotes.

I'd love to explore this some more to see if we can make this workable. I think you know that, like you, I'm about ready to pull the trigger on Kickstarter for my Polis comic, and I'd love to have something going in parallel here.

Maybe that's another way this can work, at least in the short term? Have it as a campaign going in parallel to a campaign on Kickstarter? Still though, if the KS campaign fails, there's no escrow system for the amounts pledged/transferred on Steemit.

Thanks for posting this and getting the idea started!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56776.60
ETH 2424.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37