How to set up SteemSQL on a Mac computer and "Curate like a Boss"

in #steemsql7 years ago (edited)

Ever since reading @carlgnash’s posts on using SteemSQL as a curation tool “Curate like a Boss,” I have been itching to get it set up and cooking. @carlgnash created two excellent articles telling us Steemians all about how to get started with SteemSQL:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@carlgnash/curate-like-a-boss-a-beginner-s-guide-to-querying-steemsql-by-a-complete-sql-beginner
https://steemit.com/steemit/@carlgnash/curate-like-a-boss-pt-2-a-beginner-s-guide-to-querying-steemsql-by-a-complete-sql-beginner

POST IMAGE.jpg

I am not going to repeat information from Carl’s post, so be sure and read those as they are excellent.

SQLBlissSQLBlissSQLBlissSQLBlissSQLBlissSQLBlissSQLBlissSQLBlissSQLBliss

My SQL Problem
The problem I had in getting started with SQL is that I am using a Mac computer. The tools seem to be pretty limited for Mac, or so they seem to me. So I am going to show all you Mac-using-SQL-wanna-be’s how I set up my system to access the SteemSQL.

Step 1
First thing you will need is a client. I wanted a free one as I did not know if this is something I will be wanting to commit too much time and money into. The software I am using is Oracle’s “SQL Developer.” You can download a full version for free from here:

http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/developer-tools/sql-developer/overview/index.html

I had to create an account and validate an email to install. Not sure if you can get around this or not. Let me now?

sqldev install.jpeg

Download and install

SQLBlissSQLBlissSQLBlissSQLBlissSQLBlissSQLBlissSQLBlissSQLBlissSQLBliss

Step 2
Next, Java 8. I am not a fan of Java and have not been keeping it up to date on my machine, but you need to have Java 8 to run SQL. I updated my Java to 8 through Apple’s system preferences, but this did not work. SQLDeveloper keep telling me that I did not have Java 8 – the nerve!

I did some research on the Interweb and found a solution here:
http://prsync.com/oracle/java--on-a-mac-with-sql-developer--653575/

In this article we are told that we need to download and install the Java 8 JDK. You can get it here (in case the above link no longer works): http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/java/javase/downloads/jdk8-downloads-2133151.html

sqldev install.jpeg

Once you’ve install the JDK give yourself a reboot for good measure.

SQLBlissSQLBlissSQLBlissSQLBlissSQLBlissSQLBlissSQLBlissSQLBlissSQLBliss

Step 3
If you run SQLDeveloper it will not work yet – Here is why…

The SteemSQL is a MicrosoftSQL. So we need to configure SQLDeveloper to be able to access this type – No Problem! We will need a JDBC drive to allow us to access SteemSQL (MsSQL).

I found this article with helps with that:
http://www.gokhanatil.com/2011/09/configuring-oracle-sql-developer-for-microsoft-sql-server-and-mysql.html

Feel free to read up, but I will give you the details you need here.

Step 3a
The article points us to this driver download location: https://sourceforge.net/projects/jtds/
Go there and download the driver and unzip it into a folder where you store it forever. I created a folder in my applications folder called “SQL Developer” and I placed the SQLDeveloper application and this driver in it.

folder in apps.jpeg

Step 3b
Now you can start up SQLDeveloper. Go to “Preferences.” Expand the “Database” selection on the left and select “Third Party JDBC Drivers.” Click “Add Entry..” at the bottom of the window. You will need to navigate to your SQL Developer folder, navigate into the driver folder that you unzipped earlier and select the “jtds-1.3.1.jar” file. Once there click OK a the bottom of the page.

select jar.jpeg

Step 3c
Quit SQLDeveloper and restart it.

Step 3d
Click the Green + button to create a new connection.

green plus.jpeg

You will be brought to the ‘New Connection’ window. Here is how you can configure your connection for SteemSQL.
The password will be “steemit”

login info.jpeg

Now you are in SteemSQL!!!! Go to @carlgnash’s posts (beginning of this post) to see what you can do and to see some query examples. On steemit.chat there is a group dedicated to this stuff - #steemsql. Great info in there too.

I hope this helps you in your queries. If you have questions or comments please put them in below? If you liked this post please upvote, resteem and follow

Cheers,
@buckydurddle

LEGEND_20171112_044327.gif

Sort:  

Guess it's time to dust off the old programming fingers! Thanks for the info @carlnash and @buckydurddle!

Thanks @doghaus. This is a great tool for searching the Steem blockchain.

Ty @buckydurddle ! And Ty @carlgnash ! Both have been upvoted and followed!

Thanks for the UV&F @snakehayter :) Cheers

Geez you have to jump through some hoops as a Mac user! Thanks so much for this tutorial, I have had several other Mac users ask me about a freeware SQL client that would run on a Mac and I struck out when I attempted to Google this myself. Happy to give this a resteem- this is a super useful post! Great job Bucky!!! Much love - Carl

Thanks @carlgnash. Yes there are a lot of hoops for us Mac users. Worth it :) Now I have to dig into the SQL nuts and bolts.

dig into it ! it's very helpful and there are other possibilities as well. Big thank you to @carlgnash for writing a sample on how to curate like a boss. And yes, there are usually problem with mac user and here you are! coming up with a solution. Resteemed!

Thanks @macchiata I am not sure why it had to be so difficult to get MsSQL to work on the Mac. It seems that Windows users had an easier time.

Yes, thanks to @carlgnash for his great posts. And thanks for the resteem.

If you think you have a problem with Mac, try Ubuntu. The second last time my computer died, I did not want to go Windows and Mac really isn't supported here. My cousin got me a lap top with Ubuntu. A bit of a learning curve for me, for sure.

My last computer died three weeks ago and I have been using my son's since. Why? Because I have a huge decision to make. The only computers available here are windows machines. Now that I have has Ubuntu I don't want to go back. I guess I'll have to wait until I travel back to Canada and buy one there...sigh

Hi @cecicastor. I have used Ubuntu a fair amount over the years. I do like it and wish I could use that or Linux Mint more. My video work ties me to Mac. I currently have a old computer in my studio with no harddrive. I live boot off a thumbdrive to Linux Mint and another thumbdrive for Ubuntu. I have been doing this just for fun, but I would love to use either of those OSs full time if I could. Oh well. Not for now. I have to stick with my Mac.

All set up!
I love just being able to search my favorites. :)

Great to hear @doctorcrypto Have fun with SteemSQL

This post has been resteemed by @minnowsupport courtesy of @juliakponsford from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Ok now I am in Linux right now and this post it's going to help me with some things that I need to improve thanks Amazing @buckydurddle and @carlgnash

Hi there @yusaymon. Great to hear from you my friend. I don't have much experience with Linux, but there are lots of people around steemit and PAL that can help you with that for sure.

Yes !!! :) Thank you very very much !!

This post has been resteemed by @msp-lovebot courtesy of @juliakponsford from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

This post received a 2% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @juliakponsford from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

This post received a 20% vote by @msp-canada courtesy of @juliakponsford from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56519.24
ETH 2991.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16