[STEEMSPOT] Major update | No Registration Required, Improved Marker Cluster Support, New Spot Mechanics and Multi Spot funtionality

in #steemspot8 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemers!

I'm proud to announce a big update for http://steemspot.com - Steemspot was started as a community tool to let steemit users represent our community visually on a world map. It's purpose was set out to help discover steemers around you and also as a tool to follow your favorite steemers who frequently travel the world.

So far we've seen some great updates around the world!

@sitaru Bucharest , @davidbrogan Northern Ireland, @ozertayiz Quito, @indykpol Aarhus, @Rimantas Vilnius
, @nasato Warsaw, @justoneartist Lima District, @teego Vilnius, @foma17 Moscow, @riscadox Campos, @redpalestino Sankt Peter Ording, @noisy Oława


No Registration Required!

Registering on SteemSpot is no longer required. You can now easily add new spots by clicking "add spot" and follow the popup modal. *html5 geolocation is still required for easily finding your spot.

Instructions to add a spot:

  • Click add new spot
  • Enter your steem username
  • Hit "geolocate" me
  • Make sure to accept your browser asking for permissions if you haven't already allowed it





    Improved Marker Cluster Support!

An additional improvement in this release is improved marker clustering functionality. Utilizing additional JS library's locations with identical coordinates(lat,long) will now spider out accordingly. There can be thousands of steemers in the same location and visually this will spider displaying all markers.


Multi Spot Functionality

Steemspot early alpha only allowed for you to have one spot instance. After many requesets steemspot now allows for infinite steemspots for any user! Mark steemspots wherever you travel and visit!

Added Privacy

By default spots are recorded to the spot city. Spots do have the ability the mark to your exact address. This is great for landmarks and spots you'd like to share on your journeys.

What are you waiting for? Come help us build the steemit world map together!

http://steemspot.com

Thanks!
@originate

Sort:  

Hey, @originate!
Can you post an image description to do this in Chrome.
Tried to get it, but could not find how to re-enable geo locating for steemspot.com is regards @xpilar

@xpilar When you click "add spot" you'll see the confirmation asking for your steem username. When you hit the "geo-locate" button you'll see a popup in the top left like this (image below). After you approve it will find the location! Let me know if you have any issues.

[] Hello @originate
It worked out fine both for xpilar and me. No problem at all.
[]
Regards
The Viking of Norway

Fab idea if your lucky enough to travel .

Nicely done! I am spinning up my miner today as well so I will tag both on here :)

Fun app!
knock-knock my neighbour

Campos dos Goytacazes - Rio de Janeiro - Brasil !
br7239f.png

I think that one in Peru is me.

Actually I just tried and it says my geolocate is off which it is not, I am running Ubuntu 14.04 X64 Chromium version 51. Pls Fix!

it looks like this problem is being caused by the site not running https here is the console error getCurrentPosition() and watchPosition() are deprecated on insecure origins. To use this feature, you should consider switching your application to a secure origin, such as HTTPS. See https://goo.gl/rStTGz for more details.

Thanks for that.

@raymonjohnstone I'll look into it! Chrome, Firefox, and Safari on OSX/Windows should be good.

chromium pulls from the chrome rep so yea I know it should be good let me try restarting browser maybe its my end. I tried and I am still getting the same above error. I will try in firefox.

Yea same problem for me on firefox

yeah thats great, maybe i find some steemers in my neighborhood :D

This is amazing @originate, i can now check who are those who engaged in steemit in my country, well hoping that they will use steemspot too. Hope this post will be seen by all.

Interesting. I do see few of them are up now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57527.13
ETH 2375.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42