You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ALERT - Betting account run by a trusted member of Steemit found to be a scam

I disagree. There is nothing wrong with legitimate gambling. That is like saying we should ban shops because some of them might sell dodgy goods.

Also, I advocate that we only advertise use-cases that attract people who are of above-normal intelligence.

That is an outrageous thing to say. Getting conned is not a matter of intelligence.

Sort:  

Sports gambling is not known for attracting bright people. Bright people are known to stay away from such activities.

And-- do excuse me-- I don't think we should have a ban, and I didn't call for a ban. The community needs to excercise discretion.

....and if gambling on sports is what people want..... I guess once again I learn that I'm not like most people.

Sports gambling is not known for attracting bright people. Bright people are known to stay away from such activities.

Like I said that is an outrageous claim to make. What evidence is this based on? Has someone been giving people IQ tests when they gamble?

And-- do excuse me-- I don't think we should have a ban, and I didn't call for a ban. The community needs to excercise discretion.
....and if gambling on sports is what people want..... I guess once again I learn that I'm not like most people.

That's fine. The only gambling I do is buying cryptocurrencies but people should have the choice to bet on sports if they want. It is no different from any other kind of gambling.

Sports gambling is not known for attracting bright people. Bright people are known to stay away from such activities.

I assume you think they're not smart because they're doing something that causes them to lose money?

I don't see why this would carry over to @Steemsports and betting on Steemit, since with these you win and take no risk while you play.

A problem gambler isn't really that attracted to this, because there isn't any rush or real amount of money on the line.

The people who might join because of Steemsports are people who like ways to earn a tiny bit of money for no real effort, or who are into sports and think it's cool. Maybe you could make sweeping generalizations about those groups and their intelligence, but the typical junkie sports bettor isn't really even the demographic who gets pulled in.

By the by, it's possible to be an advantage sports bettor. The house is interested in dividing the action evenly and making money off of the juice. It's not inherently unbeatable like most games, it's more like trying to trade stocks profitably, if you have better information than the market you can win at it.

Point being just that it's really tough to make broad statements about everyone who does X activity, because there are a bunch of different reasons why people might do it, and for some it probably is a really high intelligence that gives them the illusion that they're smarter than the market price. If there's any subset of gamblers who "aren't bright", sports bettors are one of the last ones I'd pick. First would go to slot machine or state lottery players.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53375.38
ETH 2393.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15