Former Soccer Player Rio Ferdinand Launches Boxing Career

in #steemsports7 years ago (edited)


SteemSports Presenter: @aaasports
SteemSports Editors: @ldauch / @velimir

The former Man Utd star, who quit football in May 2015, is taking part in online betting firm Betfair’s “Defender to Contender” project at the ripe old age of 38.


Ferdinand’s spouse Rebecca died of breast cancer shortly before his retirement and he has since lost his mother, also to cancer.


“I’ve been through quite a few things in my life,” Ferdinand told reporters in London. “This is a way of trying to channel that aggression, that anger sometimes, into something I can be really focused on."

“I’ve probably been searching for that since I retired. I miss that competitive edge. It’s something for me to focus on after the last couple of years.”




He will be trained by former world champion Richie Woodhall. The ex-West Ham, Leeds, Manchester United and QPR defender, who currently works as a pundit with BT Sport and the BBC, said in a promotional video: “I’ve won titles in football but now I’m in it for a belt.”

But will Ferdninand attain the required licenses by the powers that be? Mainly, The British Boxing Board of Control (BBBofC).
“I’ve got the utmost respect for the boxing fraternity and I’m not saying I’m going to be a world champion,” Ferdinand said. “I’m saying there are loads of hurdles to get over and I’m going to meet them head on.” “I’m not going into this without thinking about the dangers,” he added. “I don’t look at this as a circus. I’m not trying to disrespect anyone. I’m taking it seriously.”
Ferdinand’s plans could yet be scuppered if the British board rejects any potential application for a licence. Woodhall, 49, said: “That’s the biggest hurdle. He’ll go through a 10-12 week training period to improve his technique, then I want him to spar. “The board are going to want to see him, and actually see him perform. We’ll be arranging that.”
After everything Ferdinand has been through in the last couple of years it is understandable he wants to try and take control of his life by thrusting himself into dangerous waters. But, at his age is this really the wisest of decisions?
Image Sources:

dailymail.co.uk
hellomagazine
betfair.com




Sort:  

That is interesting, did not know about his sad life events. Wishing him strength and all the best to enter some competitive sports things again. A great man!

Isn't he old enough for this?

Exciting news for sports enthusiasts,

As an established and proven athlete in his football career, without a doubt Rio would have built up a bank of mental toughness and concentration.

Within the boxing world this is just as important as landing a knock out blow.

The punishing conditioning drills he would have completed each day for Manchester United and more recently QPR in the Premier League shows his level of commitment that will undoubtedly help the transition into another sporting field.

Rio will have many people in his corner for support and I wish him the best of luck in his endeavors.

Good job, i like u hv artikel

Good luck Rio.

Losing your partner and mother to cancer cannot be fun. Instead of going to the drink and picking fights in the local pub, he's chosen this route.

Fair play.

Very interesting and informative post shared followed and upvoted. @steemsports Wish you the best with all your future endeavors.

Congratulations @steemsports, this post is the fifth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Hero account holder (accounts that hold between 10 and 100 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Hero account holders during this period was 205 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $3402.47. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Este debe dar fuerte con sus puños! gracias @steemsports

I've seen many sports stars go through career changes successfully and unsuccessfully... I guess its just going to boil down to how bad he wants it right?

I wish him very luck for the successful career.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62943.85
ETH 2464.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55