My Daily Fantasy Sports challenge

in #steemsports6 years ago (edited)

Hi guys,

If you´re following me for a while, you should probably know now, that I´m big fan of football and football analytics. I´m working on my predictive models and try to use them on betting for some time.

I´m always keen to try something new and I´ve started my small challenge in Daily Fantasy Sports few weeks ago. I´m writing about it on Czech site www.fantasyman.cz, but I feel like there is much more to write about. And Steemit seems like a good place to write about it in English.

What´s Fantasy Sport? Some elves are riding unicorns or what?

Hell no, sometimes it could be a wild ride, but no pink unicorns out there I´m sorry if you like them, so I give you at least one :-)
elves.jpg

Fantasy sports are connected to classic sports like Football and Ice hockey. You are creating your squads for tournaments (usually all matches from one round of league competitions, but it could be as short as one match or all season long).

FanteamBanner

For every tournament, all players have some value and you get the budget to buy players and choose your squad. Every player gets some points for each positive and negative action during matches (every site has their own rules for points, we get to it in a second). You also choose a captain of the team. He receives double points.

At the end of the matches, all points are the sum and best players take the prizes. How much you can win depending on the format of the tourney. For example when you play GPP tournaments, only best players are rewarded, in Double or Nothing tourneys, best 50% of players are rewarded etc.

How are my players rewarded?
I´m playing on DFS site called „Fan team“. For football, players are rewarded like this for some action(there is a lot more, for full list, please visit Fanteam) or click on the picture to get to the website.

FanteamBanner

Too much talking, I wanna some real-world example
Ok, let's take from boring numbers to the example of last round in England.

I have played few tournaments with buy-in ranging from 1-11 Euros on Fan team. This is squad from one of them, Double or Nothing tourney with 2,2Euro buy-in: (2Euros goes to prize pool, 0,2 is a fee for the house)

IMG1.JPG

As you can see, my players get 51 points together. There were 53 players registered to thr DoN tourney, so there were 27 best squads rewarded. I finished 18, so I placed ITM (In the Money) and cashout 4 Euros.

How the hell I should choose the right squad?
Well, this it´s the toughest part of the game. I´ve started my challenge a few weeks ago and I´m still not sure how to do it. I´m still trying to find the right way and choose good players. I´m using my models and some advanced statistics, but still, need more experience and some time to set things right.
So my posts will be not some „guide“ with pro tips how to do things perfect. I´m learning and finding my way to beat DFS and my posts will be my diary about this journey.

Where I play Daily Fantasy Sports?
I´m playing on Fanteam. It's supporting players from European Union and offers with interesting guaranteed prize pools. There is also very generous 200% bonus up to 500 Euros.

FanteamBanner

P.S. For my friends in Czech and Slovak community:
Příspěvek se trochu natáhnul, takže místo obvyklé dvojjazyčné verze tentokrát jen anglicky. Českou verzi připravuju aměla by bát hotová zítra.

Source of images:
Mighty unicorn is from Pinterest, rest of the images taken from Fanteam website

Sort:  

You got a 7.38% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @frisbald!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!

You got a 27.19% upvote from @oceanwhale With 35+ Bonus Upvotes courtesy of @frisbald! Delegate us Steem Power & get 100%daily rewards Payout! 20 SP, 50, 75, 100, 150, 200, 300, 500,1000 or Fill in any amount of SP. Click For details | Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62661.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76