When and Why I Started Supporting ArsenalsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemsports7 years ago

image

Arsenal can be straightforward pain in the ass to watch. As a gunners, since the Invincible, there is not a lot to celebrate no more with frustation over frustration. Since 2006 when Arsenal moved to Emirates from Highbury, we were a laughing stock. It is OK to make fun of Arsenal in front of me. I am a strong supporter even with a lot of things I don't agree. I am not from the UK where Premier League was born and Arsenal was born in North London. Supporting Arsenal was merely my choice eventhough a lot of my friends ask me to be a 'Red Devil'.

The continuous passing game, the trust in kids, the lack of spending, the selling of players, the ransoming act of players to club, the Proffessor, the French club, Fabregas saga and all, that is all the sum of my favorite club. As I said, even though I don't agree to a lot of it, that doesn't mean I am not behind my great club.

So When I Start Supporting Arsenal?

Live matches is hard to come by in early 2000 where I started gaining interest in watching football. At that times, there are only local match where I use to follow my dad to nearby stadium. I remember I only can watch some of the clips from international football from tv news. Back then also the internet was not broadly use yet-well at least at my country.

I remember I saw one of Arsenal matches on the news. It was like 10 second highlight and I was in awe with Thierry Henry move as a striker. At that time it was Manchester United time with the charm of David Beckham where everyone just love. Except me, I was attracted with the non-attractive-but-talented Thierry Henry. He controls the attacking team with Arsenal and that's were it started. It started with Thierry Henry that I learn about Arsenal and became a fan. It then make me loves the likes of Dennis Bergkamp, Patrick Vierra, Ashley Cole, Kanu, Sol Campbell and all.

image
It started with this man. The King himself

Bought My First Jersey

I had the same jersey like what Henry wore in the picture. It was my favorite Jersey for 5 years. Maybe because I never bought any before.

Ups and Down

I wish I can say that I watched a full match when 'The Invincibles' was playing back in the days. But I did not watch any. I only know about scores by reading the newspaper.

However, I can say that I watch a lot of 'down' moment of Arsenal. One in particular that I can't and will not forget is the lost to Manchester United by 8-2 in August 2011.

image

It was an embarassing defeat to a great club with such capacity. Nevertheless, It was Arsenal who display low quality football leaving the Gunners in shame. It left me 'moody' for the whole week just thinking about football. Lol

Futsal

Because of that I started playing futsal (5 vs 5) and feel in love with it. I'm not good at it by the way. It is a fun sport to learn and I met a lot of girls who supported Arsenal along the way.

image
lol, sooooo poyo

Anyway, though i'm a lifelong gunnerista, that does not mean I don't know about other team. I keep up with other Premier League clubs, Bundesliga and La Liga in my free times. My favorite player as of now is Eden Hazard from Chelsea, Robert Lewandonski from Bayern Munich and Sergio Ramos from Real Madrid.

Football is one of my fav subject,

Let's talk

Jen

image

Sort:  

So this is your gooner history. I started two years earlier with Dennis Bergkamp

Yay! It is! Gunners for life. Am waiting for the Live game now haha

And we are still trailing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66599.39
ETH 3336.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70