You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SteemSports based on TRUE facts. My writer's perspective.

in #steemsports8 years ago

I wouldn't worry too much about the trolls. They're just a few inconsequential squawkers who are incapable of seeing the bigger picture. What would concern me if I were @steemsports is the withdrawal of support from the whales who had been supporting the project.

Over the past two weeks, I've been sucked into this nonsense with my own posts, getting flagged by users who have no clue what "vote-buying" is. (I don't even have a voting requirement to enter my contests.) Also, these same crusaders seem to be completely oblivious of other users who actually publish posts that would be considered vote-buying. They're only targeting the popular sports posts, as far as I can tell. So their crusade isn't even about principles...it's about the trending page - and successful projects/users.

The saddest part about their accusations and attacks is that they claim it's happening in order to "save Steemit" because what we're doing is "harmful for the platform." Meanwhile, they're actually creating a hostile environment with their constant accusing and flagging based on ignorant assumptions and a complete misunderstanding of what's actually occurring. And the latest @steemsports post about their magazine interview/promotion highlights how easily perceptions can be damaged by ignorance and malicious behavior.

That being said, one thing I will point out is that there ought to be a more professional PR face for the business here on the platform. Some of the back-and-forth that I've seen is not at all helpful for the @steemsports brand. That needs attention.

Sort:  

Yeah, I still find a hard time understanding how others cannot see that this hostile environment can only bring losses to all of us. It might be those ignorant assumptions as laziness to look into the facts as you say, but that still amazes me.

I totally agree that losing whale support is the worst that happened to @steemsports during the last weeks. Also, that part about PR is also right. Looking at the bright side, the best time to learn is during the beta. I really hope that everyone will take some valuable lessons out of this meanless game of accusations and will continue to do business in a more professional manner.

Also, all the best with your games. I might come back to play it again before Super Bowl. Sadly, I know nothing about NFL, apart from watching a couple of Super Bowls during my life. Your games might be a great chance to learn something about NFL, tho.

Thanks for your insights, @ats-david

Logic is not something you can apply to this situation - because it defies it. We prepared these posts with the reader in mind - not enough content and we don't get voted for - too much content and its not worth it. Now we are being pushed from out homes by the very people who voted on our games.

I miss bringing some life to the Toronto games I watch and enjoy - the other team was always for everyone else in my mind. I did the MLB postseason (American and National), the World Series, and I was really hoping to play out the whole season for the Raptors - with the odd Maple Leafs game for good measure.

I think you are right though - I got flagged on a Bucks post too. Maybe Willie Nelson was right:

And at the airport in Milwaukee,
They refused to let us board the plane at all,
They said we looked suspicious,
But I believe they like to pick on me and Paul.

haha. It was always about Milwaukee... I knew that there must have been a reason #MilwaukeeGates #FakeMilwaukee
You might still finish with Raptors. It is a long season and couple of bad weeks don't mean anything.

Annoyed but not deterred. I'll keep putting up those Raptors and Leafs games . I was waiting for Ukrainian Christmas - I figure people are still on holiday that's why they aren't voting.... #MilwaukeeBucks suck #WeAreTheNorth

The whales hate Milwaukee
Now we can't play the fucking games at all
They said WE drained the reward pool
I guess Steemit felt its back against the wall

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60482.94
ETH 2613.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63