Dtube Exclusive: Smells Like Steem Spirit Entry - Lady Steem Talks Ladies on The Blockchain

in #steemspirit6 years ago (edited)


Hi @Kpine!

This is my official entry into your "Smells Like Steem Spirit" contest!

The video above is kind of an explanation of this character I made specifically to promote the Steem blockchain.

I started on Steemit in November, when this friend of mine suggested I try out this cool website. At that point I had barely heard of Bitcoin and crypto, and had no idea what blockchain was, or any of the intricacies of this crazy new tech world that I now feel like I couldn't even live without!

Over the last 5 months or so I have dove head first into as much information as I could about crypto, blockchain, decentralization and Steem. I knew that while tech wasn't my prowess, that I had my experience in social media management, running a non-profit, and being a public speaker/performer to offer the Steem blockchain, and that is exactly what I have been spending the last 5 months doing!

My first meaningful contribution was a cover-parody I wrote about how it felt being a Minnow!

It was meant to be a meaningful anthem for the people who have just joined, and a fun way to introduce people to the platform.

I did a few tutorials for a while, and then I found my groove producing the first specifically-Steem news show, BuzzSteem, which strove to recognize all of the awesome creators on Steemit. This is the first episode to actually get pinned and saved.

Doing these videos for two straight months allowed me to really get to know some awesome people on Steemit and Dtube. I realized there were so many people that were producing such awesome stuff that wasn't getting recognized. The least I could do was promote their stuff on my show. The other thing that I came to realize however was that there weren't very many women to choose from. I did a lot of research and found that the majority of Steem users and crypto investors were men.

This became my new mission! :)

I decided to make a character that women could relate to. I wanted to create a female embodiment of Steem, that was funny, inappropriate, smart and pretty, but not...sexy. This character wasn't for the men, it was for the women to see and relate to, to give women representation.

I made the character to start producing videos to send out to other platforms. I have made videos that explain blockchain, crypto, Steemit and other concepts in an easy-to-understand format. I have shared these across my other social media platforms and spurred a lot of interest in Steemit.

On top of that, I plan to continue to use my Lady Steem character to advertise for Steem at upcoming major events. I have a pretty outgoing personality and love to talk to people! If nothing else though, I love to entertain, and feel like I can do both with this character and the help of the Steem platform.

Some of my Lady Steem work:

My intro video:

Lady Steem Takes on Social Media:

Lady Steem Interviews Ned Scott:

Well, that's me, Beth Wheatcraft and Lady Steem!

I can see Steem going places, and I am so happy to be on board!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

This channel is very unique!

Thanks! I am a bit all over the place, but I think it's more fun that way!

Great message, Beth! Please vlog the comic con stuff. Have you heard of the Muse project?

I think Coruscate is part of it and it's a movement for getting ladies on the steem blockchain.

I have seen that. I will have to check that out, it sounds awesome.

Oh there will be so much comic con vlogging. I am pretty stoked. I love people watching at the comic con, so Steem stalking is going to be so much more fun even! :)

Great idea - is it really 90/10? I didn't realise that!

It may be a little less extreme on Steemit, but on the blockchain/cryptosphere in general, that's pretty accurate! Steemit and Dtube do a good job of highlighting females even with the huge discrepancy. I would really love to see more females on here though! For sure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83