SketchCrazed – surreal, lurid, unzipped

in #steemsketchbook4 years ago (edited)

SketchCrazed is an opportunity for me to share the very strange artwork I do. The common thread is in the attempt to explore new relationships of form, contrast, and pattern, and to see where they take me.

The Shaman’s Dance


shamans-dance-sketch.jpg

The original ink drawing

When I started painting again, around 9 years ago, I went through my drawings to find things I felt might translate to paintings. This is one that I chose. I didn’t realize how much it would change on canvas. Everything changed – orientation, details, interpretation. My drawings are not made to use as paintings, so many elements in them require interpretation to translate into colored shapes instead of suggestions in ink. I have to flush them out and give them clear definition.

shamans-dance-150dpi.jpg

The final acrylic painting

I was seeking to capture a wild sense of shape and detail, a kind of explosion of form. The painting loses the idea of the shaman figure, but gains in visual interaction and complexity.

details.jpg

Details, details…

Once I am done with a piece and have moved on to new projects, I can come back later and observe it from a more detached perspective. Then I can enjoy the overall piece as well as the little pockets of textural patterning and shape here and there.

© All Rights Reserved @mrsomebody

surreal, lurid, unzipped

footer.jpg

Steemians, thanks for reading this post. Please follow me at @mrsomebody and comment below.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57824.98
ETH 3133.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42