SketchCrazed – surreal, lurid, unzipped

in #steemsketchbook6 years ago (edited)

SketchCrazed is an opportunity for me to share the very strange drawings I do. The common thread is in the attempt to explore new relationships of form, contrast, and pattern, and to see where they take me.


Imaginary Sculpture Park


imaginary sculpturepark-blue.jpg

Who knows where these things come from? I saw a picture of a kinetic sculpture, and that set me off on this path. I tried to create an image with lots of form and movement, but with a light and playful quality to it.

My original sketch

sketch.jpg

It is a simple black and white ink drawing, with bits of detail in the dark areas for relief from all the black. I scanned it and brought it into Photoshop, where I played with color to enhance it. The version I uploaded to Instagram (https://www.instagram.com/donbakerartist/) has a different color treatment. I think this one is the more interesting of the two.

All Rights Reserved @mrsomebody

surreal, lurid, unzipped

footer2.jpg

Steemians, thanks for checking out this post. Please follow me at @mrsomebody and comment your thoughts below!

Sort:  

it's really cool ! like seeing through different layers of the world as a flat object <3 love the stairs ... the brickwall, the connectivity and yet pauses between the forms <3 and the colours are neat, too <3

thanks @veryspider. I was trying to create something kinetic, but it ended up being a bit heavier. We have an outdoor sculpture park here in Seattle, so I was influenced by a mobile sculpture there.

This is surreal indeed :D you enhanced this sketch so nicely! there are so many details that just make you think a lot about the tittle of it heheh great work!

** This post will be proposed to be curated by the @celfmagazine project **

Thank you @ailindigo. I took a photo of a kinetic piece at the SAM sculpture park in Seattle, and that got me thinking about shapes affected by the wind and other elements of the natural environment.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Wow thank you so much @c-squared. I appreciate it.

Your article has been upvoted by CELF, a curation project for visual, plastic and performing arts, music, and literature, we will share it so it can receive more upvotes :). Drop by at our discord server!: https://discord.gg/fC5jcDF


Thanks @celfmagazine for the upvote. I appreciate it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58940.53
ETH 2638.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49