The Steem Sister Show - Episode 26 // Restaurants!

in #steemsistershow6 years ago (edited)


Welcome to the 26th episode of the Steem Sister Show!

Your hosts are @coruscate and @maryjaney. We are two sisters using the Steem blockchain to chat about our life experiences and provide a little entertainment value to the Steemit Community.

Topic of this Episode – Restaurants!


No shock here, but Mary and I love chatting about food! Because we have both worked in the food industry as well - it gave us kind of an interesting perspective on everything too.

Ps... There is a lot of laughter and a few bug incidents in this video. It was pretty blazin' hot in my apartment, and so we decided to head outdoors!

Here are the questions covered in this episode:

  • Audience question from @ralk98 – If you could choose the gastronomy of one country, which one would you choose?

  • Second question from @ralk98 - Do you think that western restaurants modify foreign dishes to Americanize it?

  • Do you eat fast food? If so where?

  • Audience question from @kenmelendez – What do you usually order on your chipotle burrito/bowl?

  • When you are researching a restaurant you haven’t been to – what do you look for?

  • Your food comes out and it isn’t hot enough – do you send it back?

  • What are your pet peeves when eating out?

  • What sets apart a really good server?

  • Mary used to work as a waitress – Tell us what you wish people knew!

  • What is your favorite meal of the day to eat out?

What is the Steem Sister Show All About?


We aim to bring more “non-crypto” related content to the Steem Blockchain. Although there is nothing wrong with this kind of content (@corsucate even posts on crypto related material sometimes) – we want to help create a better onboarding experience for new users. We talk a lot about attracting new users to the platform – but if the trending page is filled with crypto posts and flagging wars, they are likely to lose interest quickly.

We hope that by creating content that is more similar to what they are used to seeing on other social media sites – they will feel more excited about being here and creating content of their own!

How Does It Work?


We pick a different topic every episode, and then throw totally random questions about that topic in a hat and go back and forth. We always have a mix of our own questions and some audience questions. Our rule is that we cannot tell each other our answers before filming! So you guys are getting our raw, unfiltered reactions here.

Every episode we announce the next week’s topic so people can submit questions.

Want to win some SBD??



If we chose to answer your question in the next show… we will send you 2 SBD! Now that’s some easy money.

Next Week’s Topic :Essential Oils


In next week's episode - we will be chatting all about essential oils! We were laying them on thick during this episode to hopefully avoid mosquito bites - which inspired the topic for our next video. We will chat all about our favorite scents, what ways we use them in our everyday lives etc.

If you would like the possibility of winning 2 SBD - please submit your questions! Anything on the topic of essnetial oils is fair game.

PLUS... if you have your own money saving hack you'd like to share - feel free to leave that below! We'd love to get as many great ideas together as possible to discuss on our show next week.

Listener questions always end up being the best ones - so thank you in advance to everyone who submits one!

That’s a Wrap!


We hope you enjoyed watching our episode on restaurants! We had so much fun filming this episode - if you can't tell. Ps... don't forget to weigh in on our totes magotes discussion.

If you have any thoughts or questions that came up from this episode – feel free to shoot them in the comments below.

With Love,

The Steem Sisters

@corsucate and @maryjaney

78DFD348-5948-4706-8D4B-47041D8AF229.jpeg



Ps... In case you missed it - @daveonarrival has now provided official documentation of the Steem Sister Sushi adventures! Check out his video below!

Screen Shot 2018-07-17 at 12.12.26 PM.png


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

(This doesn't mean that I say it though 🤣)

Bahaha!! @maryjaney will love this!

lol I wonder if she can imitate him 😂 can you @maryjaney ?

We might need to have a live version of this on an upcoming SSS!

Yeah! we definitely should!

That photo at the top is so great. Well done!

I really like parklyfe SSSs... the serenity.... I have to say, I'm a little surprised at Lea's worm-reaction, I just imagined you as being super tough, I guess everyone's got their thing. Maybe a 'fear' episode?

I totally forgot about essential oils... when I was getting weekly acupuncture, my friend would add lavender to my forehead when I'd rest with the needles in for 40. I really loved that.... and then moved away and forgot about it all.

I honestly don't know anything about oils.. so apologies if this is a silly question... but are there any essential oils good for recovery after exercise?

oooh parklyfe! Yeah, I get totally freaked out by bugs. Even though I do all sorts of backcountry adventures - the feeling of a bug crawling on me gives me the creeps! I actually didn't realize I looked that ridiculous though!! hahah I had never exactly gotten this reaction on camera. lol

I almost cut it out - but thought WTH. lol

So cool that you used to get weekly acupuncture! That sounds amazing. Actually... i've only gotten it once and the needles felt wierd - but I know how good it is for you and i'm sure i'd get used to it after a while. lol

Also - your essential oil question isn't silly at all! I actually hadn't thought of that before, but I bet there are lots of great ones for that! I have some friends who are more of an expert on the subject - so maybe i'll pick their brain on that before this episode. :)

thx for the Question bounty!

Would do here your thoughts about Mainstream media!? Do you consume it alot? Which one do you watch? Are you a subscriber to Ron Pauls youtube channel?

Are do you recommend only listen to the weather forecast to keep your mind in a healthy positive shape?! :D

haha great questions my friend! I very rarely watch mainstream media. I can't trust any of it, and it honestly gets depressing. I actually don't spend a lot of time reading the news - but I should probably spend more.

I do love Ron Paul. <3

Where do you usually get your news?

right now i derive most of news from my Facebook feed where (mainly Germans) post local news.

but i try to establish a news feed outside Facebook - @herrmanns.weekly

But the most important news is acutally the price of Bitcoin (and the weather) - rest does not directly affect my life.

Hahahaha was it a spider or a worm?? Good stuff. Excellent answer to my question on Chipotle appreciate that a lot as well as the SBD gift. I normally get brown rice, pinto beans, chicken, corn, and sour cream. Very enjoyable show you guys have here. I was thinking of creating a show of my own called like "coffee time with Ken" or something like that lol we'll see. Maybe I need to find me a coffee buddy.

It was a worm.... LOL. I had no idea I looked that ridiculous when I get freaked out by a bug.

I love the idea of a "Coffee with Ken" show! There is something about coffee that just makes a cozy, comfortable vibe. I think that's a great idea. :)

I had to search for the expression 'totes my goats' to see what it means - had no clue :-)

So for the next video..... I haven't really used essential oils except maybe a couple of times when I was sick. I found that the cost of these could sometimes be really high. So my questions is:

"Which is the most expensive oil you have personally used?"

PS: I tip my servers well but do so when I plan to come there again. I am not much of an explorer, so I select the joints that I eat at and stick to them.

Hey look! Reply #2 already! hehe

Glad to hear i'm not the only one who doesn't use that phrase regularly. lol I Love your question about essential oils too! I don't think either @maryjaney or I are crazy about oils like some people I know - but I definitely like using them for somethings!

Interesting perspective on tipping too! When you are known somewhere - the expectations with tipping can feel a little different. I think that's why I still tipped well at sushi the other day even though they forgot us. Having worked in the tipping industry, I probably tip more than your average bear, but I still don't really agree with the system.

Cool that you've found a couple local restaurants you really like! There aren't too many restaurants that know me that well - but coffee is a different story! haha Everyone at my favorite coffee shop knows my order. lol

Anyone who doesn't say Totes Magotes is borzo!

bahahah looks like I need to re-evaluate my life.

what a happiness moment with the sister. It's feel lika I envy to see you guys and I want do that with my sister too. You guys so beautiful Steemian. :)

aww thank you. I am so grateful to have such an amazing sister. Doing this show together has actually really brought us closer. <3

How lovely it is to see two sisters look so happy together filming a show. I hope more episodes to come for you both. Keep the smile up! :)

aww thank you! I'm so lucky to have a sister that is also one of my best friends. <3

I'm glad you are enjoying our show!

You sisters are wonderful, @coruscate and @maryjaney, Much love #SteemSisterShow

Hi Friend! Have you checked your wallet today? I totally realized the exact same thing earlier today and felt horrible that I forgot to send from that episode! Here's a screenshot of the transfer I sent about 8 hours ago. :)

Screen Shot 2018-07-17 at 10.18.20 PM.png

Yeah...thanks, actually I have edited the post :)

Perfect! haha for a moment I worried I had mistyped the username or something. Glad everything is all good!

Actually i need to let u know this; you inspire me a lot... Maybe one of this days i will make a post about the SteemSisterShow.

aww @oxygen02 that is so kind of you! Be sure to let me know if you ever do so I can stop by and give your post some love! <3

Regarding the next week topic about the essential oil, You know what? In Indonesia, It's a kind of baby's routine. I used to have it when I was a kid my mom said. It's unique when you still use it right know😂.
I wonder what kind of oil did you and Mary Used to cover your body from mosquito? Is it comfortable? And since when you do this habit?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68180.36
ETH 2642.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70