The Steem Sister Show – Episode 07 // Spirituality and Religion – PART ONE

in #steemsistershow6 years ago (edited)


Welcome to the seventh episode of the Steem Sister Show!

Your hosts are @coruscate and @maryjaney. We are two sisters using the Steem blockchain to chat about our life experiences and provide a little entertainment value to the Steemit Community.

Topic of this Episode – Religion and Spirituality – PART ONE


This week, we are going a little deeper to talk about our experiences with religion and spirituality. We have decided to make this a two part episode because it is such a RICH topic – that it didn’t seem possible to condense it into 20 minutes.

In part one, we dive more into our religious background and then in part two we will talk about our spiritual journey’s and where we are right now. We grew up in a really radical, almost cult-like church, and so in this episode we unpack a lot of how that affected us growing up and even share some really crazy stories that might surprise you guys.

Instead of spending the entire episode on questions, we spend the first half just telling stories and sharing some of our history. Then at the end, we answer a few questions from listeners.

Here is a list of audience questions covered in today’s episode:

  • Audience question from @dnews – Do you believe in coincidence, or divine intervention?
  • Audience question from @goldmatters – Have you ever had to deal with a conflicting religious or spiritual belief with a close friend or significant other?
  • Audience question from @thinkinglbt – How does spiritual exploration shape your world view?

What is the Steem Sister Show All About?


We aim to bring more “non-crypto” related content to the Steem Blockchain. Although there is nothing wrong with this kind of content (@corsucate even posts on crypto related material sometimes) – we want to help create a better onboarding experience for new users. We talk a lot about attracting new users to the platform – but if the trending page is filled with crypto posts and flagging wars, they are likely to lose interest quickly.

We hope that by creating content that is more similar to what they are used to seeing on other social media sites – they will feel more excited about being here and creating content of their own!

How Does It Work?


We pick a different topic every episode, and then throw totally random questions about that topic in a hat and go back and forth. We always have a mix of our own questions and some audience questions. Our rule is that we cannot tell each other our answers before filming! So you guys are getting our raw, unfiltered reactions here.

Every week we announce the next week’s topic so people can submit questions.

Want to win some SBD??

If we chose to answer your question in the next show… we will send you 2 SBD! Now that’s some easy money.

Next Week’s Topic : Music


Music is such a big passion for both of us, that we thought it would be fun to dive into our history with music, what instruments we play, what instruments we want to learn, our experiences performing on stage – and much more. I imagine there will be a few crazy piano lesson stories in there!

The music episode will air one week from today.

If you have any questions regarding the topic of MUSIC – please shoot them below! If we answer your question next week – we will send you 2 SBD!

That’s a Wrap!


We hope you enjoyed watching Part 1 of our Spirituality and Religion Episode. We certainly had a fun time filming it and bringing up some crazy memories.

Thanks for watching and we’ll see you guys for Part 2 later in the week. We look forward to delving into what our journeys have looked like in recent years and how we would describe our relationship with spirituality and religion today.

With Love,

The Steem Sisters

@corsucate and @maryjaney


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Another awesome episode of the #steemsistershow! Great job diving into a this complicated and controversial topic. It was courageous of you to handle this subject with openness and honesty. The steemsistershow continues to evolve and grow into the high quality type of content that will bring Steemit up by its bootstraps!.... heres my question for next time : How is your sister talented musically in a way that you aren’t but wish that you were? What can she do that you cannot?

Sisters! Love it! I have a twin sister. I am going to convince her to start up a blog with me. You two are inspiring!

aww you should @ferrisbueller! That would be really fun to watch. Doing this show together has definitely brought us closer together too because we are spending a lot more time together. :)

Well done ladies! This is a huge topic to take on such an international and open platform... you covered it with a ton of class and respect.

I've always been super conflicted about religion; there's no doubt there is definitely good that comes out of creating that sense of community and helping one another, and then there is all the harm that organised religions have had on the world. Even at a really young age I could see the conflict between message and action. My Grandparents loved going to mass so much, and would literally stand outside the church for 2 hours talking to their friends... but they were also unapologetically racist...

Having moved from Oregon (and working in Wisconsin) from Australia, it is fascinating to see the differences in devotion and opinion between the 3 areas.

I really enjoyed listening to you both talk about this, great show girls!

My question for next week's show is:

Did your unusual upbringing help establish a concept for the meaning of life, or the meaning of your lives? Or did you find it elsewhere, or is a question you're still working out?

Hey @aussieninja I just wanted to reach out and apologize for the confusion on where we were accepting questions for the next show. I really appreciate your thoughtful response on this episode and I'm glad you enjoyed this episode! It is definitely a delicate and sensitive topic to discuss.

I bet it would be interesting to see the difference in how people view religion and devotion - moving from Australia to the states.

Have a good weekend! It’s been fun to follow along with you and Karen’s adventures! Haha

Hey Lea!

Ah, this is amazing! You are so nice, I really appreciate the reply. I've kinda come in a bit late, so I'm sure what was obvious to everyone else was a bit confusing to me... but I'm on the same page now and excited to get the sisters thinking AND pondering.

Hope you have a great weekend too! Thanks... we were only hanging for 3 days, but it was easily my funnest 3 days in the states to date.

Music is a great passion for both of us, who thought it would be fun to immerse ourselves in our history with the music, the instruments we play, the instruments we want to learn, our experiences on stage, and much more. I imagine there'll be some crazy piano lesson stories in there!

Being music a great passion for you and as you already know some instruments, I would like to know if you thought about creating a girls band, maybe a duet, a rock band? If so, what kind of famous artists do you identify with, what genres?

Hey :)

Sorry, the brand has taken a knock after the ulog about branding and image in which which you didn't reply to any comments! Bad mochachocafrappelatte!

https://steemit.com/steemit/@coruscate/140jg7of

Practicing what you preach is my rather tenuous link to todays ulog. Luckily, your content is still fresh and worth a watch :)

Hello @abh12345! Honestly, major props for calling me out - because I deserve every drop of that bad mochocofrapalatte to be thrown in my face. I wish I had a better excuse besides life getting really hectic around that time. Definitely not the relationship I want to have with people who are kind enough to comment on my posts. Staying connected with people and engaging in meaningful discussion is one of the best parts of this platform.

Thanks for still being willing to give me and my content a second chance. ♥️

It's hard not to come across an ass in comments like the above, I tried my best because it's not how i wanted to be.

But I've done similiar before, just a nudge to stay on track :D It's tough with life, and content being the king of the up-votes, but keeping your peeps happy and coming to visit is worth something to - I know you get it.

Have a good day!

Totally appreciate the comment. It just means you care enough to make sure I stay on track! 😊 Have a good one!

Sisters sensation... Suparb mam

Your sister is so pretty! I love her eyes.

Right?? I think her eyes are so piercing and beautiful! ♥️

Haha, nice as always. I'm more an skeptical person, I think divine intervention is not necessary, if you were born in Australia (for example) you are more likely to fall in love with an Australian, but if you move to Asia, you are more likely to fall in love with an Asian, it's all about geography to me. I don't get why people say "that person is the love of my life" and I can't accept the fact that among 7 billion people your neighbor, co-worker or classmate is the love of your life, haha. Maybe people have many "loves of their lives" around the world, crazy theory :D!

My question for next episode:

Have you ever stage dived? if not, would you like to do it someday?

I'd really love to know the answer!

OMG such a great question!! hahah Thanks for submitting it.

Yeah I agree with you on the whole SoulMate thing... I don't think there is just one divine destiny for each person... that would be a little crazy.

Well, those are interesting stories from your childhoods. I was a pastor's kid but nothing close to Pentacostal.

Oh man, i'm sure being the pastors kid and being in the spotlight that much probably has it's own sets of expectations and rules. Sounds like your church was maybe a little more even keeled than ours was though... so that's good!

Having great fun as you do the show with your sister is really the added benefit. I understand the queuing part as I used to queue for hours before I can enter the the Church Service too. My simple question for your next topic: Which Christian song or music has touched your heart the most? (So touch that you cry your heart out!)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63582.29
ETH 3267.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93