You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Steem Sister Show - Episode 10 // Money and Personal Finance

Great episode sisters! You two interact so well, it's a great watch!

We really struggle with the eating out aspect too... it's so much more expensive than eating in... but we get tired and lazy and just break. It's funny, my partners parents don't even think about it, they'll whip up something before anyone gets starvatious or go down to the shops to get ingredients to make up something quick. They had young kids during Australia's recession though, and so developed good routines.

Being organised is the key there. I know once I get too hungry or too tired I'm useless...

I'm definitely more like Lea debt-wise, and my partner is more like Mary Janey... I hate the idea of debt but my partner sees it as a useful tool. We've owned a fair amount of property together, and with all the fees/costs associated, I'm not super sure people come out ahead. In Australia we had 4 properties, when we left we sold one for a record amount in the area, one just broke even, and 2 we haven't been able to sell. I'm honestly not sure property is the investment people quite think it is... but unless you kept amazing records it'd be crazy hard to tell either way.

We have bought in the US, but that's solely because rent in Portland is ridic.

So, my question to you both... have either of you (or your parents when you were living with them) ever renovated your home, and was that exciting or stressful for you? If you haven't... would you like to renovate yourselves or would you prefer contractors to come in, get it done and it's finished?

Sort:  

I'm so glad you enjoyed this episode @aussieninja! Thanks for sharing your experience with real estate. Your right, most people don't fully understand all the costs associated and only think of it as an investment.

I definitely know a lot of people who have made good money on real estate - but it's because they have a calculated formula of what they are looking for and what they can afford. I've always thought people who buy fixer upper's and then re-sell them seem to have a lot of fun with that and it can definitely be something that pays off once you figure out how to streamline processes and get efficient with the remodel costs.

Also, i don't blame you for not wanting to rent in Portland! SO expensive! I live in Bellingham and our prices are pretty inflated - but nothing like you guys or even Seattle.

Great question for next week too!! That would be a fun one to discuss! We are filming the Food episode too and I know you had a ton of good ones on that one too. haha

Thanks for always submitting such fun and interesting questions!! <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.032
BTC 60972.25
ETH 2632.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57