Steem Coin Design Contest 2018

in #steemsilverround6 years ago

I wanted to take a minute to explain my steem coin contest submission.

I noticed in the contest post that they were going to keep one side of the coin in the same format to give continuity to the coins as they are released every year. The steem logo is incorporated in this so I didn’t want to just use the logo as the centerpiece in the drawing.

So I decided to look to the white paper for ideas. Towards the end of the paper there is a section about blockchain based attribution: "Under blockchain-based social media, a creator or author would always be able to point to a public record and timestamp showing proof of their content origination."

So this was cool and something I wasn't really aware of and I thought a light ought to be shined onto it. I encourage you to read this section of the white paper if you haven't already. If we look up attribution in the dictionary it states "the action of ascribing a work or remark to a particular author, artist, or person."

I did my best to represent attribution by using the archetype of the water bearer. In this case the water that she pours into the stream represents the content. The stream represents the blockchain. You'll notice that she has two water vessels. The idea is that ideally we don't want to dump everything onto here only the things that are of quality. Which is also shown by the "magical" up-vote icon that floats above the stream.

The second component I wanted to celebrate was the diversity that I see on this platform. This is represented by the fruit and flowers in the tree (I really tried to get those bananas just right lol). Now horticulturally speaking this makes no sense but don't worry it's just a drawing. The gnarly tree represents the core team responsible for steem in the first place. which is why I patterned the tree off the basic shape of the steem logo turned sideways. This is why the stream/river falling down a tall waterfall because steem didn't invent the blockchain. The blockchain is sort of like a programming element like earth or water. The waterfall mountain is a tip of the hat to all the individuals that have made contributions to the development of the technology.

This design was also an attempt (possibly failure) to not rely so heavily on the nautical theme that seems to be present in the steem universe.

Anyway I had fun doing this and I hope you enjoy the image.

IMG_4292.JPG

Sort:  

That's a really cool drawing mate and would look great as a coin :)

Very nice work. I've set up a voting bot to reward authentic content like yours on steemit and have added you to the list. You should receive automatic upvotes. Welcome to steemit!

Thanks! @oropeso I appreciate it!

Wow i really like the trunk of the tree and the leafs.

Thanks! your design with the the world map is really a crisp design. However I would reconsider putting the Pulsar in there because it comes off like there is some kind of geographic significance at the nexus, and I think the pulsar exceeds the scope of steem. But that's just my take on it. Seems like your design is probably the strongest contender for winning. Best of luck!

when you say pulsar your talking about the earths location the this universe?
do you think it would be better if i pput it in the watter somewhere or just remove it?
Thank you for the input!

yup the pulsar map (location in the universe) is what I'm talkin about. And really just ignore my previous comment, my opinion doesn't matter. If you think the pulsar map is relevant then I say let it ride homie.

Weird how you were trying to give constructive critisim then it changed to ehh fuck it do what ever.
O.o

EDIT:
My bad was acting a fool.

Whoa whoa whoa. Chill out man. Listen, The reason why I said that is because I felt a bit silly telling you what do because you're the creator of your design and I felt wrong for giving you feedback you didn't really ask for in the first place aaand I thought maybe I was missing the point your design was presenting. Sorry it came off that way but i wrote that response with the intention of showing you respect.

My bad, was a bit drunk and should have just stayed away from steemit.

cheers and sorry about all that again.

Very nice man,I love the thought and explanation behind the design, You've really though about every element. I really like that.

i think this will be a winner its a beautiful design!! will look incredible sculpted in 3d :)

Hope your right!

Very beutiful. You really have love for the detail. one can see that

Thanks I definitely spent some time on it.

Great design with a lot of detail and very interesting with the back story! Good luck and appreciate your work!

Thanks @dwingsworld Make sure you head over to the official voting thread and vote if you haven't already.

https://steemit.com/steemsilverround/@phelimint/voting-is-now-live-for-the-2018-steem-silver-round-design

here is a more direct view of my submission.
20180131111915765_0001.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57360.64
ETH 3124.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23