Where can you spend a silver coin? Part 7

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

So as part of this on going experiment I thought I'd take my £2, silver, Britannia "home". So where is that? Welcome everyone to the Royal Mint in Llantrisant, Wales. We'll it is the Royal Mint, but more accurately its the visitors centre or as they've branded it THE ROYAL MINT EXPERIENCE

IMG_20180125_133104.jpg

It's a new building and the work was completed and open to the public in spring of 2016.

IMG_20180125_132934.jpg

IMG_20180125_133001.jpg

So without further a do let's get down to the nitty-gritty and get inside.

IMG_20180125_133209.jpg
IMG_20180125_133201.jpg

IMG_20180125_133809.jpg
IMG_20180125_134237.jpg

So yeah! The gift shop isn't very big, but it is packed with some very expensive coins and coin sets.

IMG_20180125_133228.jpg

IMG_20180125_133400.jpg

IMG_20180125_133305.jpg

Enough time looking at the coins I can't afford and down to the whole point of why I am here. Will the place that actually minted the coin actually accept it back as payment?

Let's find something that costs less than £2... It wasn't easy but I found the kids, gift section.

IMG_20180125_134222.jpg

IMG_20180125_133922.jpg

So what do we think? Did the Royal Mint accept the coin they made as payment for some badges?

IMG_20180125_192849.jpg

So what was your guess?

IMG_20180125_193359.jpg

Of course they didn't.... They did know exactly what it was though, funny that!! The desk manager came over and had a good chat and was very interested in where I had been and had I had any luck. Well obviously I hadn't you tit or I wouldn't be here trying it today!! If you've made it this far, congratulations. I have no need for those badges now, if you want one give me a nice upvote and comment below "I want in".

IMG_20180125_201217.jpg

Sort:  

Fantastic — and unbelievable — experiment!

Cheers big man. Very quickly running out of places to go spend it. Thanks for calling in

I wouldn’t have the ballz to offer bullion coins for face valur in case someone said: sure mate, here’s your crisps, now f.o.

Bah ha ha

Don't tell anyone but I think I've covered the cost with the payouts from steemit. Shhhhh.... But yeah every time I hand it over and get that "look" I like c'mon give it back, you dont know what it is....

One day someone will, but till then its rathe fun to see the cashiers face go WTF!!

Wow I'd love to tour that place! Great pics too btw. Yeah I didn't think they'd take it for payment but just so u know I'll pay you face value for as many as you have! 😊 Oh and I'd love to be in 😎

You're in. OK, face value but it's $22 p&p per coin? 😋

I don't know how it is the U.K., but the primary government minted silver coin here in the U.S., the Silver Eagle, is legal tender and, in theory, can be spent anywhere. Of course it's kind of dumb to spend a 1 oz. silver coin as if it were a dollar but you could. I'm hanging on to my silver eagles though so I'm not going to try. :)

These coins were minted as legal tender but I'm really struggling to find anyone that 1) even knows what the coins is let alone 2) take it as payment

I guess technically they don't have to take it as payment unless it is for a debt you already have. Personally, I'd jump at the chance to take it as payment at face value :).

These Brittannia’s are really cool. Funny thing is, I don’t have them in my stack! I make it one of my objectives for this year to buy a couple of them.

Definitely worth picking up a few of them. Good luck with your stacking.

Man, genius idea for a place to try. I thought they might actually take it. If they don't accept it there I don't think you'll find anywhere that will.

Very ironic that the place that made the coin and sold it with "face Vale" on it wouldn't accept it as payment. They even know it was worth far more than the £2 I was trying to use it for but still wouldn't take it.

I want in, my dude

I want in. Cool post but they wouldn’t take government backed coin as payment Interesting. I sell you something for a buck and I’ll take it lol

You're in. Nice try hahaha. I'm sure someone will eventually. Just proves that the mint is purely out to make profit and not there for the job it says it does. Why make coinage you can't spend!!

I tried doing that here in Winnipeg at the RCM with a 20 for 20 and they told me that they did not accept NIFS coins ! (not intended for circulation)

Even the rcm doesn't want those turds.

That's what I got here.... What a joke!! Complete con artists

fantastic experiment! loved your reaction to the had any luck question!
did the guy tell you if anyone had tried this stunt before on them?

By his reaction I don't think anyone had tried to spend a silver Britannia for £2. It was a stupid question by him.... Well mate, I've still got the coin, I'm trying to spend it here, so does it look like anyone else has accepted it already?? Idiot.

Very cool little trip, I wish I had a mint near by... That might be a bad thing too. Good luck trying to spend that.

It's actually far cheaper to buy my silver through other places. The mint gift shop is incredibly over priced and for tourists and fools

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60061.12
ETH 3196.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45