One of these coins is not like the other! #24steemCreated with Sketch.

Good evening guys and gals, sorry it's been such a long time since I posted anything remotely related to silver but I'm back and ready to go again. Although I've not been posting I've still been keeping an eye on you lot and keeping those all important upvotes coming.

So anyway let's get down to business. Can you guess which 1 of these 3 coins is different and what the difference is??

IMG_20170926_211529.jpg
IMG_20170926_211911.jpg

OK now here are the fronts:

IMG_20170926_211438.jpg
IMG_20170926_211753.jpg

So even if you're only half awake you would have noticed the different designs, but look deeper than that!

IMG_20170926_212201.jpg
IMG_20170926_212044.jpg

OK got it now?? Did these last 2 images help? If you haven't got it now I'll tell you.... 2 of these are fake Canadian maples. I've been screwed over by 2 different eBay sellers, at the same time.

In the image of the 3 coins, the bottom right hand side is genuine. In the individual image, it's the top one that's real.

Luckily eBay refunded me with very little argument. The sellers were very apologetic, giving excuses like this is the first time, it must have been a 1 off, it's never happened before, I always check my stock... Bla Bla Bla. To an untrained eye(and I include myself in this catagory) it's easy to see how they get away with it. They weigh the same, are non-American and sellers have 100% feedback. It's only that all 3 came the same morning that I compared them to each other. Fingers crossed I would have noticed anyway but who knows.

So stay focused guys, these fakes are getting better and are out there.

Happy stacking. Remember to check out our community #steemsilvergold. Upvote and keep blogging.

DQmYeRXrmb4fhJ8e6pYYGjAx9SCZSrW7cfuYFH9TQP5NXYX_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

I've had one like in the top picture
the font is wrong
the coin looks like it been chromed and you can't see the planchet pattern like you can on the real ones
It reacts to a neodymium magnet
I think the reeding is wider too

I was expecting to come across the odd "fake" coin every once in a while but to get 2 out of 3 (3 different sellers) is crazy bad luck. I'm still hoping I would have noticed a fake, but when they showed up together it was clear to me they didn't look the same, who knows if I had just got 1.

Aside from them looking off and just not feeling quite right what was the deciding factor for determining they were fake? Weight? neodymium magnet? Measurements?
I find fake rounds pretty interesting because it has to take a fairly detailed/extensive amount of work to get something that can pass at least a cursory glance.
Thanks for sharing!

Just the look got me thinking. I don't know if you can see on the images but the frosting is the wrong way around. On the genuine, the coin is frosted and Elizabeth's head is reflective on the 2 fakes its the other way around. I will weigh them and get back to you, but they feel pretty much the same to me

Oh for sure the frosting looks off and even the font doesn't look quite right and usually that kind of thing is enough to make me suspicious, but for posterity I like to weigh and stuff haha. Little bit of ocd.
Thankfully so far I've only bought one fake ASE off of eBay and the seller refunded no problem, but still a pain in the ass.

Thanks for the heads up.

Yeah with 2 fakes coming from 2 different sellers I thought it best to give the community(here in the UK) the heads up that there might be another influx into the market.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73