A little experiment using silver! Can you spend it!

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

After my little blog 2 days ago for @goldmatters about #whatintheworldsgoldmoney and how I said: "Ever tried going to your local supermarket and at the till offering to pay with silver??? You'd be laughed out the store...", well I thought I'd give it a try!!

IMG_20171205_094613.jpg

So my plan- take a 1oz silver Britannia with a face value of £2 and try and buy everyday items and see what results I get.

IMG_20171205_100507.jpg

IMG_20171205_143550.jpg

The 2015 silver, 1oz britannia has a face value of £2 and is classed as legal tender. It is authorised by royal proclamation in accordance with the requirements laid down by the 1971 coinage act. TRY TELLING THAT TO THE TILL WORKER IN TESCOS

So off I trot to my local supermarket to pick up some milk for the weeks coffee fund in work.

STEP 1, PICK UP MILK.

IMG_20171205_094905.jpg

STEP 2, GO PAY FOR MILK AT CHECK OUT.

IMG_20171205_095011.jpgIMG_20171205_095026.jpg

First I tied to put the coin in the slot but it's too big and doesn't fit(I knew it was, I wanted to speak to a person). So I call the lovely assistant over to ask her for some help. I asked her why the machine won't take my money and showed her my coin. She had no idea what it was or that it was even made of silver. She smiled and said she would find someone straightaway to help me. In less than a minute(not bad customer service I thought), a deputy floor manager came to see me. He took one look at the coin and said that they would not accept it as it wasn't in their policy. He assumed it was a commemorative £5 coin(base metal) to which I pointed out it was solid silver and had a face value of £2 on it.

IMG_20171205_162637.jpg

He was nice enough about it but said that it wasn't his rules and did I have any other way of paying?

STEP 3, GET OUT FAKE, PAPER MONEY.

IMG_20171205_100425.jpg

So I paid using paper!! Yep that's right, one of the UK largest supermarket chains would rather accept paper with the number 20 on it and a picture of Elizabeth than a solid silver £2 coin.....

I spoke to the guy for about 5mins afterwards and explained what I was doing, but he didn't want to be photographed. He was taken back when I explained that to buy this silver coin would cost you about £20 and if they had accepted it and cashed it in for its silver content, which at the mo is £12ish, they would have made a profit of £10.91. He seemed genuinely interested in silver and I think It dawned on him that paper money, is in fact just paper.

Well I guess Tesco is off my list, where to next? Let me know where I should try.

IMG_20171205_131448.jpg

Im hoping that some place will take my coin and know the true value of silver. Just goes to prove the majority of the world is oblivious and happy to follow along blindly and that if you want to spend silver in Tesco you need to use a #goldmoney credit card (hey @goldmatters how's that for a plug??)

Sort:  

Try Waitrose there posher in there :)

Too posh for me mate. I've heard they only accept full gold sovereigns. Even half sovereigns are beneath them. 😂😂😂😂

Lol! That machine knows nothing! 😀

Exactly. Someone needs to take a look at it

The machine knows nothing... Random fact!
The whole store knows nothing 😂😂😂😂

This post has received gratitude of 1.45 % from @appreciator thanks to: @welshstacker.

Thank you @appreciator first time user and will be using again.

I would have gladly given you the paper needed for the check-out machine... lol...
@pocketechange

Well, at least you weren't arrested. . . .The U.S. has a Two Dollar Bill that is valid currency; however, they are rare.... try going to buy a taco at Taco Bell, or a hamburger at McDonald's. Somebody did just that and 'almost' was arrested. The "Manager" at Taco Bell said it was Fake, "There's no such thing as a 'two' dollar bill". . . so the "Manager" called the POLICE and said that the customer was using a COUNTERFEIT bill. Police arrived, also thinking it was FAKE! There's videos online about this, hilarious ....
So, try your coin at McDonald's / Taco Bell / Burger King! ! !

Challenge accepted. McDonald's here I come

I'm looking forward to that post.

This post has received a 0.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Welshstacker, I really enjoyed this post! Anytime you want to trade milk for silver, I’m in.
Look forward to more escapades like this.

J

Hahaha 😁 I'll keep you in mind next time I'm doing the shopping

Haha this is awesome I have always thought about the legal tender status of bullion coins and whether or not somebody would be mentally equipped to deal with the transaction.

It's amazing that they wouldn't even accept it for $2. Good luck on your adventures.

I know crazy. I think smaller, local shops might take it. Let's find out!

This is insanity bro 🤣 about the only place I can think of is a pawn shop. Out here you'd be lucky to get spot.

Well I'm off to McDonald's next. Let's see what happens.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62187.20
ETH 3051.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79