SSG Mega Raffle Mail Call from @goldrooster

Sometime today while I was sleeping a package got dropped off from a distant land.

IMG_20180621_193740581.jpg

This was the first prize I won in the @ssg-community Mega Raffle. @goldrooster was generous enough to donate these 2014 Somalia Elephants to the list of prizes.

Unboxing

Some people have nice elegant unboxing posts and videos, I tore this thing open like a child on Christmas Morning.

IMG_20180621_193821499.jpg

2014 Somalia Elephants

First off, I want to say how surprised I was with these coins. They're flawless and beautiful. I had only recently seen them online. I'm still having a tough time figuring out the mint numbers on these, but it looks like between 120k-150k. I really am starting to like this series the more I look at it.

The coins are struck by the Bavarian Mint for the Somalian government. They started the series in 1999 and had very low mintage numbers the first few years of production. They weigh 31.1g or 1 Troy Ounce. They carry a face value of 100 Shillings and are a 39mm coin.

Obverse

IMG_20180621_193927108.jpg

This was such a good description on JM Bullion I'll be using it to introduce this coin.

Prominently showcased on the front of the coin is a bull elephant, trudging through the tall grass of the African plains, perhaps in search of a tree for shelter from the scorching heat. In the distance, viewers can observe another member of its herd, accompanied by its young calf. From the curved shapes of their tusks to texture of their wrinkled hide, wildlife enthusiasts will undoubtedly appreciate the realistic portrayal of this pachyderm trio, as well as the accurate rendition of their native African habitat. Such details are enough to make them feel though they were actually viewing such creatures up close on a safari or at a wildlife preserve. Also engraved unto the front of the coin are its vital information including its, weight, purity, and series’ title. Source

Reverse

IMG_20180621_193941297.jpg

The reverse side of the coin offers a moving tribute to the Somali people with an artistic interpretation of their national coat of arms. This beloved emblem depicts a shield, decorated by the single five-pointed star of their country’s flag. The shield is upheld by a pair of leopards, that are supported by a set of crossed palm fronds and spears. Printed along the outer edge of the coin are its mintage year, denomination and country of origin. Source

All I can say is WOW!

IMG_20180621_193909795.jpg

Between these 2 coins from @goldrooster and the Amazing coins I recieved from @ronaldoavelino, I couldn't be happier. For my 10 spots in the raffle I got over 4ozs of the shiny to add to my stack.

I want to thank everyone involved with the raffle and all who donated to the community. You guys/gals ROCK!!! 🤘🤘🤘

Proud member of the most generous community on the blockchain. #Steemsilvergold

DQmYeRXrmb4fhJ8e6pYYGjAx9SCZSrW7cfuYFH9TQP5NXYX.png

giphy.gif

Sort:  

Pf, finally you got them. Man you show them really good. I am glad you like m. I have one myself still and some are in the family. I made a note for you but forgot it to include it and it was already fully taped etc so threw away the note. Adios!

They really are some great looking coins. I'm thinking about getting the whole set now. No worries on the note, the coins got my full attention. :) Thanks for shipping these to me @goldrooster.

These elephants rock!

I really like them. I still have some studying to do on the coins I got from you. Then I can do a nice write up on each one.

These look really nice. Congrats and nice job @goldrooster

They are some great coins @buggedout. Thanks for checking them out.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Thank you for your support.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by vgholdingsllc from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thanks @minnowsupport for the free $upvote.

The raffle was bad ass! Glad ya got a W

Yes it was. We need to do it a couple times a year. Thanks for stopping by @pit-bullion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83