My first wood pours

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

Inspired by @fat-elvis and @gdwcoins, I decided to pour some silver. I really like how the wood pours look and figured with the right amount of alcohol, anything's possible.

I cracked a Budweiser and went from there. For my first attempt I just carved a bar shape into a 2x6 I had laying around. The first pour didn't have much detail so I tried again. Second pour got scrapped when I tried to dump it out of the mold to early and it was still liquid.

The third pour turned out decent but not much detail (I still kept it). By the Fourth pour the mold was getting deep. I doubled up on silver and PRESTO! I really like how it turned out. The top is a little funky, but I can live with it. Check these out.

IMG_20181115_133835034_HDR.jpg

1st Pour 1.07ozt

IMG_20181115_134148803.jpg

2nd Pour 2.02ozt

IMG_20181115_134129265.jpg

Now I'm going to start tinkering with some other smaller shapes and patterns. Should be interesting to see what I come up with....maybe a VW symbol???

What are you waiting for??? Get your Monster Raffle tickets now!!!

Get your Monster Raffle 3 tickets now!!!! 1 SBD each sent to @ssg-community with MR3 in the Memo. Open to anyone on the platform. For more information please see this post. Monster Raffle 3.0. You can also see a list of the prizes by using the tag #monsterrafflethree.


Proud member of #steemsilvergold. Blockchain raffle experts.

DQmYeRXrmb4fhJ8e6pYYGjAx9SCZSrW7cfuYFH9TQP5NXYX_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Nicely done. Those look great, especially the 2 oz.

Thanks @methus. I'll be pouring more of them tonight.

I love wood pouring. The resulting chunks look organic.

Thanks @drakos! These were my first and I'll be pouring more tonight. I really love the look of them after a few pours. Do you pour?

I don't pour, but I'd like to one day. By the way, check out this simple technique for adding ripples, it's awesome.

Very cool. I've watched a few of his videos. My graphite mold pours have cool lines like that. Wood cools different. It takes longer and acts different. Hard to explain.

wood pours are awesome been thinking about doing some myself but most awesome bro most awesome indeed

I like how they turned out. It surprised me.

wait till you try other woods you might be hooked

Very cool! We love our "vg" pour you sent us too!

Thanks @dixiesilverminer! One day I'll get some stamps and make a real bar. :)

Nice job! Yes the wood grains start to pop after a few burns. I tried some different woods as well, but white oak and pine so far have been the best for me. Keep at it!

When you did your pours I told myself I had to try it. They have such a cool look to them. I'm going to try more tonight. Thanks for the inspiration @fat-elvis!

I do not know how I missed this article, my friend!!! Those are awesome wood pours, @vgholdingsllc!! DO you know that the first year Silver Saver bars were wood pours? I love wood pours! AWESOME job on those, my friend. Gotta have one to compliment the ones I have.

I'll be sure to save a special one for you @silversaver888!

Very cool! We love our "vg" pour you sent us too!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Hi, @vgholdingsllc!

You just got a 1.1% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

hiya, lovely pours, i love that pattern from the wood thats really cool, silver is so much fun to play with :) looking forward to seeing what you pour next, hope you have a wonderful day, much respect to you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.80
ETH 2615.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86