You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Case For Silver. Let's Discuss A Number Of Recent Videos That Point Towards The Need To Start (or Increase) Buying Efforts For Financial Benefit & Security

in #steemsilvergold7 years ago

I'm a big fan of silver as well and my case for it is more based on the cyclical case. It's been in a terrible bear market for years and as all commodities eventually do...it'll rally.

I part from your stance to the point that some silver should be kept as a store of wealth or chaos hedge. Investing with the mindset “the price will go up and then you can sell” is a tough angle.

First, selling physical silver can be tedious and expensive if you have to get into shipping and paying ebay type fees (I’ve done it). Additionally, silver is heavy. If you have a thousand ounces it tough to move it from location to location if needed (Done that also and why I stopped buying physical silver).

Secondly, who the heck wants to sell their silver? I don’t at any price.

If I’m buying because I think the price is going up I would much prefer to buy stock in silver miners or royalty companies. It’s much easier to sell stock and your returns could be much higher with junior minors that can shoot up hundreds of percent.

Sort:  

These are interesting discussions. The selling side is largely untested in a crisis scenario in recent history at least and would likely revolve around trade or barter in the worst cases; scenarios in which stocks, cryptos and the like would be utterly of no use. In more functional times as you say, various instruments offer various degrees of functionality and return. I do know that the few items that survived the prior generations of my family have not been in the form of equities or to some extent even real estate. Thanks for the thought provoking input!

Appreciate your feedback and I think we are of a similar mindset. I like some chaos hedge items to help me sleep well at night but I also know the world has a way of not ending. With that in mind I have to play both sides and not over commit to either. Predicting a crash or war will most certainly be a correct prediction...it's getting the timing right that is the tough part.

Couldn't agree more! Almost any prediction become easy with an unrestricted timeline, it's getting the event and the timing correct that makes things hard.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62641.44
ETH 3343.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47