You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: COIN SHOP VISIT - FIVE DOLLARS AS TEN HALF DOLLARS - 20180616

Those are nice. I really like the old half dollars. They have such nice designs on them. I hope you got a great deal. You can read the dates on at least most of those halves, so they might still have some numismatic value.

Sort:  

I got them for 12 times face value. That's a usual price around here in Midwest USA.

I've gotten a few quarters and dime for 11.9 times face value, but the halves are normally more. A lot of shops charge $13 or more for them, but if you know that's on the high side, then you can skip it there and go to the cheaper shops. It's interesting how different shops charge different premiums on certain things.

I notice that some websites charge more for the current year coins like the silver american eagle, and other shops charge more for the previous years. It's kinda funny to see. I wonder if you could actually make money by buying from one and selling to the other. Probably not as there is at least $1.25 round trip cost on most coins. Oh, well.

I have 3 local coin shops. One shop sells bags of $10 face value and there prices are generally too high. Another shop sells 90% silver at a posted price and gives you whatever you request. The third doesn't do either, so I never get US junk silver from there. Thus, I always go to that second shop for my 90% silver.

I have been frequenting the same shop the last few times because I've been buying the silverware. That's a cheap way to add more weight to the stack, but it doesn't go in the same place as the coins and rounds, so it doesn't really feel like I'm adding to it. I need to get back to the other shop that's cheaper for 90%ers and get more of those. That feels like adding.

The shop where I get my 90%ers also has better prices on rounds and coins, so I want to get more random rounds. Unfortunately they don't normally have as good of a selection, so I get stuck with the same old ones. I like getting the lower price, but it's the new coins that keep the Stakitus at bay. I just have to keep working the fine line between the two.

Stack, Stack, and then Stack some more to keep Stakitus at bay. I haven't started with silverware. I look at garage sales and other places, but I never get lucky. I never looked for it at the coin shops. Maybe I'll take a look next time. Cheers

Stack, Stack, and then Stack some more to keep Stakitus at bay.

That's it! I've looked at garage sales too, but it's hit or miss. Most coins shops don't have silverwear for sale. They may buy it and then sell it directly to the melters, but not put it out for sale to the general public because it takes up room. The shop I found it has all sorts of random stuff, so it makes sense that they would have it. From what I understand, they do a good business with it too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65805.01
ETH 3514.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47