Coin of the Day 9-7-18steemCreated with Sketch.

Today's coin isn't going to be exotic for a number of SSG members as it's from their homeland. It's just a little bit older than the coins they use nowadays. It's from... Australia!

In case you weren't sure what country it is from, or if you can't read, you could probably still tell that it's from Australia based on the Kangaroo in the reverse.

This is a 1/2 Penny from 1943. It's made out of bronze!

image.png

The obverse depicts King George VI.

image.png

Based on the "I" at the bottom of the obverse, I believe this one was minted at the Bombay mint, rather than the Melbourne Mint. At least that's according to Numista

image.png
source

It's likely not worth much, maybe around $1.00, but this coin was made during WWII and has survived since then to make it all the way to the US. I don't have many Australian coins, so welcome to the family, 1943 Half Penny!



Ono Small.png
@themanwithnoname

Sort:  

I like kangaroos. I like coins. So, a kangaroo on a coin is a perfect match.

That makes sense. I've never seen a kangaroo in person, and I hear that you're supposed to keep your distance because they can be quite dangerous, but I'm not scared of the ones on coins. I'm glad you liked the coin!

Back when a big penny was really worth something, even a half penny. I know I got a few of these but I have no idea where they are.

Yeah, even the US penny was worth something at that point. We've seen a lot of reduced buying power due to inflation over the last 70-80 years. That's why the precious metals are so important.

Thanks! I'm glad you liked it. :)

You are welcome!

How do you keep so many coins? I imagine when you have visitors at home you can spend hours showing your collection

The coins don't take up too much room. The more common ones or the ones that aren't made of precious metals I just keep in a bag. I don't display them individually.

Most people really aren't into coins, so when people come over, I don't lead with showing them my coins. Most people who know me well know that I collect them, so if they ask, I'll show them some of my collection.

sir Blondie! I wonder if they still have half pennys in Australia? Surely not as it's hardly worth have a full penny coin. I like this one though, nice date one too.

According to a quick Wikipedia search, the smallest coins they have are the 0.05 piece. They stopped using the penny and two penny pieces in 1991. I can't upload photos right now for some reason, so just check out the link.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coins_of_the_Australian_dollar

Coins of the Australian dollar
Coins of the Australian dollar were introduced on 14 February 1966, although they did not at that time include one-dollar or two-dollar coins. The dollar was equivalent in value to 10 shillings in the former currency (half of a pound).

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62966.47
ETH 2631.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79