Coin of the Day 9-3-18 Contest Answer

Alright, yesterday I posted about a new coin that I got that I had to do some digging to find out what it was. I promised a share of @steembasicincome to the first person who could tell me what the coin was.

Here are the two sides of the coin again
small 1.JPG

small 2.JPG

The Answer

After searching for a while based on what I could surmise of the coins origins, I was able to find visual confirmation, and then finally find the name of the coin. It is a....

1 Jiao coin from Taiwan!



According to Numista almost 584 million of them were minted in 1955. They're made out of aluminum (like the battleaxe from France that I posted about a few days ago.)

The obverse is a depiction of Sun Yat-sen and bears an inscription that says "Republic of China Year 44" Again, this information comes from Numista.

It seems that the coin could be worth a little bit of money, but it's likely less than $1.00 USD. It's more valuable and interesting to me as a piece of history. I'm glad my friend helped me add it to my collection.

image.png

SBI Winner

We had two participants who answered at almost the same time with the correct answer.

@stever82
image.png

@mrchef111
image.png

Since it was so close and you were both on the right track, I'm giving each of you a share of SBI! Congratulations!

Thanks for playing and I hope all of you are having a great Labor Day weekend!



Ono Small.png
@themanwithnoname

Sort:  

Fun game and I learned a bit too boot!

I'm glad you liked it and learned something. I'm planning on doing another one soon. I haven't decided when, but it shouldn't be too long.

Great game, sorry I missed it.

I'm planning on doing another one soon. Stay tuned for that. Thanks for your support!

I was late yesterday. Congrats to the winners.

I'm planning on doing another one soon, so stay tuned. Thanks for your support!

seems to be late for the contest, it is amazing the story behind each coin

I'll be doing another soon. Thanks for your support!

I'll be tuned in then my friend

hahaha awesome!! :) I am glad I tied for the win! lol :) That was a fun contest by the way.

Congratulations! Thanks for playing. I'm glad you enjoyed it. :)

hahaha thank you! :) Oh it was fun! I still need to hunt through my coins and set aside all the silver ones. Will probably do that tonight while watching a bit of TV haha

That's a good plan. You never know what you're going to find. I hope you have a lot in there. Make sure to keep posting about it. Even if it's only a few posts a month, SSG loves the metals.

Will do! :)

howdy sir noname! hey first of all thank you for the kind words on the Engagement League comments, I never got back there again and for some reason my computer always freezes up on that page, just that page too!
anyway this is another interesting light weight coin. It seems like any aluminum coin would be rare but I guess not.

You're welcome! You've been doing really well and it seems like you're powering up and putting the rewards to good use. That's weird that only one page is locking up for you. Hopefully it gets fixed.

It would seen that it might be rarer, but that's ok. It just means I have to work harder to get rarer coins.

sir Blondie..on Mrs. J's computer the page works fine so it's definitely this one's problem but I just go out and use her's on that one site but yeah very strange.
how do you work harder to get rarer coins? safe up longer because they're more expensive?

how do you work harder to get rarer coins?

I would just work harder and more intentionally to find rarer coins. I would also become better acquainted with what coins are rare, so that I would know what to look for.

yes sir Blondie but doesn't the coin shop guys tell you how rare something is?

Maybe, but I don't want to have to ask them about every single coin. I can surmise based on the price and what bin it's in, but I don't want to bother him with asking questions about each specific coin. That's why I would need to learn.

oh ok well I reckon that makes sense. The only coin shop I was in had everything displayed in glass cases like they have for jewelry. That isn't the case for your coin shop I assume?

Most of the coins are in the jewelry-style cases, but they'll pull them out for you if you ask. Also, for the cheaper coins (like the foreign non-precious metal ones), they're probably just in a tub.

Great challenge and I couldn't tell 😜 lol
Still pretty new in stacking but I'm totally hooked and I learn more every day.
That is a cool coin. Have a great week. Cheers!

I had to guess when I started my research. It took me a while, but it was fun to figure it out. Sadly it's not silver, but until the coffers get refilled, I get to learn about old coins. Once we get more fiat, we'll explore old silver coins. Ha ha.

Thanks for stopping by!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

You're welcome! Glad to be a part of it.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by themanwithnoname from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62676.37
ETH 2581.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72