Coin of the Day 9-19-18

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

Well, the Steem outage the other day still has my posting rhythm messed up a bit, so I'm posting later in the day than normal. It's still silver though, so it's great whether it's early or late.

When I was at the coin store during my last visit, I found another one of those deals I couldn't pass up. I've been looking for more oversized coins, anything more than 1 ounce. They typically carry a rather hefty premium, so when you see them on sale, you have to pounce. Fortunately I had fiat ammunition loaded and ready, so when the LCS offered me this paperweight for slightly above spot, I said "Absolutely!"

image.png

It's not in perfect shape, but it's a coin that I've been eyeing for months now. The other coin store sells these for around $40, so I couldn't pass this up. It's a combination of a collector coin and a weight coin. Best of both worlds.

image.png

The back isn't in the best condition either, but I'm still really happy with this purchase. The Canadian Mint has been making a lot of awesome coins recently. Now we just need the USA to step things up with the bullion coins. There are proofs of the state quarters and such, but we need more iconic bullion. Maybe we could start a letter-writing campaign. SSG, unite!

Do you have any SuperLeafs?



Ono Small.png
@themanwithnoname

Sort:  

Nice pickup, especially at that price.

Thanks, I can't complain!

Arrrh! I'm a Canadian Stacker pirate, I've got me 'ands on different versions of Maple leafs an' yes coin is a fine heafty coin like a well fashioned scabbard. Well done Guv'nor!

Thanks, I figured you would have a Maple Leaf or two. Glad you liked it! It's nice to get those heavies. :)

I like the 1.5oz Canadian coins. If they are new, my collector side is happy, if they are like yours my stacker side is happy, due to the price. Congrats.

If they are new, my collector side is happy, if they are like yours my stacker side is happy, due to the price.

It's a win-win situation!

The heavy's are nice. I like the the Canadian Mint placing a numeric value on each coin, such as in this case, 8 Dollars. Never understand how an uncirculated coin gets so beat up, do they let their kids play with them?

The heavier the better when it comes to coins! I like the dollar amount on it as well. It means that even if they tank the price of silver, I can still use it to buy something in Canada.

I don't know how it got so beat up. Maybe that put it in a tub with a bunch of other coins and shook it around repeatedly. Heh

I happen to look at my feed. Hope you are doing well. I am thrown off my cycle as well. Haven't posted in a few days. :)
So you are a Numismatist.

Hey, thanks for stopping in. I wouldn't say that I'm a Numismatist as most of the coins I collect aren't classified as such. However, I really do like precious metals. These extra think ones are great!

It's tough to get back in the swing of things after taking a break. Don't worry, you'll get your groove back. :)

This is a really cool piece @themanwithnoname! I have not seen a 1 1/2 ounce piece before. Nice pickup!

The Canadians make a few different 1.5 ounce coins. I'm looking forward to getting more of them. It just depends on when I have money and when the coin shop gets one in. Well, when those two things overlap. Ha ha.

howdy sir Bondie! I love this big coins, one half ounce makes a big difference in a coin, love the design and everything about this one. except the country.. lol. no just teasing. great grab!

I thought you'd like this one. They say that everything is bigger in Texas, so I knew I'd need to get a sizable coin before you'd be impressed. It's probably not as big as the Texas ounces, but it's something. ;)

hahaha! howdy back sir Blondie...that's funny..yes many things are bigger in Texas like the dang mice who are big as rats in other parts of the world.
But yeah I like those big ones and they're probably more rare than the 1 ounce coins aren't they?

Correct, 1.5 ounce coins are much less common than the 1 ounce coins.

Sounds like you need to get bigger rat traps.

howdy back again sir! haha! well thankfully we've never seen any rats around here, about the ONLY dang thing we haven't seen!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60531.60
ETH 2905.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33