Coin of the Day 10-18-18

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

During my last trip to the coin store I saw they had a SuperLeaf Maple coin that was marked down. It was supposed to be scuffed up a bit, so rather than having a large premium it was the markup for a regular Maple.

I couldn't say no. Even if there were a few milk spots on it and maybe a scuff or two. It's still 1.5 ounces of silvery goodness. And rather than just having one Maple Leaf, there are three!

image.png

Here's the other side of the coin. Nothing new here.

image.png

Here it is with it's older brother. They're not the cleanest bunch, but I still think they're great!

image.png


What do you think? Is it worth it to buy scuffed and spotted Superleafs, or should I stick to clean coins?


Ono Small.png
@themanwithnoname

Sort:  

These are clearly stacker coins, not collector coins. It does not matter if they are scratched or with milk spots. You are buying only silver.

You're right, they're not really in good enough shape to be a collector's coin. I consider myself a collector, but I don't have the money to get graded coins yet, so I just get what's available. And hey, it's still silver!

howdy sir Blondie! hey, I didn't know there was a Super Maple Leaf so this is good to know. I like it, it's a beauty.

Beautiful! They still look great to me!

Thanks, I'm glad you like them!

I was given a Morgan Dollar coin when I was a kid. It wasn't in the best condition, but still appreciated in value when I sold it a few years later.

I always liked the look of proof coins. You pay more, but they really pop!

The proof coins do have a lot more shine to them than the bullion coins. They also tend to cost a lot more, so it's a matter of taste and priorities.

Have you gotten any more coins since that Morgan Dollar?

That's a good question, I don't think so, but I've been tempted as I catch your coin posts and read about "stackers."

My Grandmother was quite the prepper and always kept TONS of extra food, supplies and money hidden and stored around the house.

I remember when the neighborhood lost power for a couple of days. I was staying with her and we had no problem! :)

I got started just by seeing the other folks around SteemSilverGold posting about their stuff. I went to the coin store once and then I was hooked!

It's fun to do, and you get to keep most of your money. The prices are low, so even if you choose to sell them later, you could likely make money off them. It's not investment advice, but could be another way to get ahead.

I watched the video series about money and how it works. That's been something that's been pushing me to get ready for the next financial collapse. There is a lot of debt out there and it's all built on a very cracked foundation. I think it's a very well-done set of videos. And I normally don't recommend videos.

These are nice @themanwithnoname! I do not think I have seen anything like this before.

In my mind if they are a little scuffed, silver is silver. Haha! Great buys!

Thanks, I really like them! :)

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63135.01
ETH 2546.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64