Some Sterling Silver Military Pickups!

Hello everyone, I recently won a small lot of militaria at auction and it had a piece that I have been trying to get for a while now! So here are the items:

IMG_20180607_162748.jpg

Oh, and here is the video version for those who dislike reading!

Starting off with the non-sterling silver items is the patch. It is for the blue angels (I know, real shocker) and I guess it is from the 70s.

IMG_20180607_162831.jpg

Next up are the medal bars, one of which is for the purple heart, which is awarded by being wounded or killed while serving. The other is the Presidential Unit Citation, which is awarded to a unit for acts of courage or great feets.

IMG_20180607_162757.jpg

Then we have the insignia and badges. Starting with the insignia: the cross rifles denotes an infantryman and the US insignia, is just that, a US insignia, with a light blue disk. The small US insignia is for lapels, and the eagle is what I presume to be a cap badge.

IMG_20180607_162811.jpg

And now for the Sterling Silver! I was able to get a Parachutist badge (also known as jump wings) and a sharpshooter medal.

IMG_20180607_162859.jpg
IMG_20180607_162924.jpg

I have been trying to get a sterling version of the Parachutist badge into my collection for awhile, and it now sits in my post-WWI sterling case, I am pretty happy with how it is turning out!

IMG_20180607_164331.jpg

If you enjoyed this post please like, comment and resteem! See all of you when I get some more stuff in!

Sort:  

Your collection is starting to take some real shape my friend !!!!! Keep up the great work buddy !!!!

Thank you for reading Mike! Now I just need all the sterling Air Corps badges!

Do you know what year they stop giving the sterling sharpshooter badge?

Thank you for reading Mr. Vulcan! They stop making them around the late 60s and early 70s. Though for the last year they were handed out, I would have no clue.

Congratulations @thegrenadier! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61841.74
ETH 3420.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47