An Imperial Russian Jewelry Sword

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

This one is an older find of mine, but it is one of my favorites. I have an absolute love for anything Imperial Russian and when I saw this inside a case I just had to have it. IMG_20170822_181849.jpg
IMG_20170822_181918.jpg

It was only 60 USD, not bad for Imperial Russian silver. The man I bought it from was more interested in Imperial German items, he showed me pictures of his personal collection, he even had daggers that were from Bismark!

IMG_20170822_182520.jpg

It has a blade that can be unsheathed (also silver) and, something that seems to be rather common on silver swords, is a silver chain connecting it to a grasper (no idea if that is correct terminology :P).

IMG_20170822_182106.jpg

The final piece on this fantastic blade is the silver hallmark! The Russian system, at the time, ran off a purity system of 96, so 96/96 would be pure silver. 84 is the most common purity and denotes .875 silver. The kokoshnik mark (a Russian headdress) was the Russian assayer mark and denotes it was made between 1896 until 1908. Fun fact: 1896 is when Tsar Nicolaus the II reformed into the new assayer symbol! This one has two assayer marks, one on the sheath and the other on the star and crescent.

Thank you for taking a look, if you enjoyed make sure to up-vote, comment, and resteem!

Sort:  

Very cool! I love older swords and antiques! Thanks for sharing! Did you buy it online or directly? :)

Bought it directly, we talked for a good two hours and I ended up buying some other silver antiques from him. Sadly, he usually isn't at the flea markets near to me, hopefully, I can get up to one of his usual markets and buy more from him! Thank you for reading!

That thing is badass! Excellent write up and thanks for using the tag.

It shall be used much more too, I go to a flea market like twice a week and usually come back with something interesting, lol! Thank you for taking a look!

Transfer 0.001 SBD or 0.001 STEEM to @a-0-0 to have your last blo post resteemed to over 33,700 followers. Leave Memo empty.

Sweet blade. 👍🏻

Thank you for stopping by Mr. V!

A real Silver weapon! That cool brother an antique I could get used to

For some reason, I have started collecting silver swords, not exactly sure why. Thank you for stopping by AG47!

SO awesome looking! I like it that it is silver, and has a blade that can be unsheathed. I think that is really cool! Thanks for sharing!

The silversmiths back in the day really went all out! Thanks for taking a look silversaver!

Very nice and interesting piece Grenadier !!!!

Thank you for taking a look, Mike!

Thats a sweet looking piece of history my man

Thank you for looking Pit! You should see some of the larger silver statues from the same period!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61841.74
ETH 3420.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47