👴🏻Fatman Yuan Shikai (袁世凯) $1 Dollar Silver Coin China 👴🏻

👴🏻Fatman Yuan Shikai (袁世凯)👴🏻

Yuan Shi Kai.jpg

Yuan Shikai was the first formal President of the Republic of China. His did many infamous deeds in his life time and also plotted all the way up to the abdication of the last Qing Emperor and made himself President. After that, he tried to restore monarchy in China, with himself as the Hongxian Emperor but it was short lived.

Fatman Yuan Shikai (袁世凯) $1 Silver Coin China

FullSizeRender (3).jpg

FullSizeRender (4).jpg

Obverse
YUAN SHIKAI Portrait made in the 8th year of the Republic of China. (1919)

Reverse
Chinese Character for one dollar

Weight 26.7 grams
Silver
Purity 89%
Estimated Bullion value = 26.7 grams x Spot Price x 89%

This was 1 of the coins that I mentioned in a previous post that I had brought it from a colleague who was clearing her late father's drawer. The colleague of mine is old enough to be my mother haha 😅
https://steemit.com/silver/@thecoolplayer/real-money-silver-coins
I think many people will call it a drawer junk coins. At that time, I haven't started to collect China coins from the early 20th century and I think I offered her about $10 for this coin without knowing the true value.

After that, I brought this coin to an old coin shop owner to check if it was a real coin. The shop owner took the coin, weighted it and took a closer look at it and ask me how much I wanted for the coin but I told him I didn't know much so I wasn't planning to sell it. When I was about to leave his shop he offered me $500.00 for the coin and I was 🤔wow didn't know that this coin can be worth so much but I decline his offer and told him I wanted to keep this coin for myself because it was my first Fatman silver coin.

Sort:  

Nice Coin - Nice History...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58004.44
ETH 2579.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40