⚔️Edo Period "Coin of the last Samurai" Ni(2) Bu Ban Kin⚔️

in #steemsilvergold7 years ago (edited)

7cebe3f74c3ac8000065cd0e854110f5f7230392.jpg

I think many people would remember Tom Cruise's Last Samurai Movie and have an impression of how Samurai looks like from Hollywood's prospective but the real Samurai looks like those guy below 👇🏻 😂

nintchdbpict0002966287601.jpg

FullSizeRender (2).jpg

FullSizeRender (1).jpg

Obverse
Kiri crests top and bottom, in the center the value

Lettering: 分 二

Translation: Ni(2) Bu

Reverse
Characters for the Mint Official and his signature
Lettering:


Translation: Mitsutsugu

Weight 3 grams
Gold and Silver
Purity 22.3 % Gold 77.7% Silver
Estimated Bullion value = 3 grams x Gold Spot Price x 22.3% + 3 grams x Silver Spot Price x 77.7%

This coin here was purchased at 1 of the coin show in Singapore back in 2013 and I think I paid quite a high premium for this coin but it is worth it for me because I always wanted a piece of Japanese history in my collection that was before the Meji Restoration Period. Many people might not know how tough it is to train to become a samurai in the way of the warrior "Bushido"

I had a little taste of it during my Polytechnic years where I trained for 3 years in Kendo "Way of the sword" and after my time in army I went on to spot chanbara to train on the Kodaichi "side arm sword", Choken "long sword", Nito "Double swords side arms and long sword" and the Yari "Spear". It was quite fun for me but after each session of training, I would always go home with busies all over my body and it will take about a week to recover. For the people training during the samurai's period, I can imagine that they had it at less a 100 time worst because they trained with wooden swords which can infect quite a nasty blow, I personally had been strike by 1 so I know.

Sort:  

Great coin !! I like your story too. I only do Chen Tai Chi sword forms so I haven't had the hard training you have had. Yes...training in the old Samurai time would have been tough. Thank you for your post.

ni bu... very cool, i wanted to get something like this awhile ago, find these rectangular japanese coins very attractive, ty

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67363.69
ETH 3247.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66