Did You Know That There is a "LOVE Token" Society ???

I Dropped by One of Those "We Buy Gold" Places Today to See if They Might Have any SILVER For Sale ?

In My Travels Around the Valley Coin Shoppe's I Also Drop Into Pawn Shops and We Buy Gold Stores..............

I Know That If I Go to These Non Standard Coin Shoppes I may Very Well Find a Little Treasure, Of Course Many of You Know That I am a Pirate at Heart.................

I Did Find Some Great Stuff Today and I Will Be Showing Some of The Things I Got Today Over The Next Couple of Weeks...............

But Getting Back To This Love Token Thing, Love Tokens Were A Big Thing Back in the 19th Century...........

I am going to Show You The Love Token I Picked UP Today and Then I am Going to Leave a Link for You so that You Can Learn a lot More About The Exonumia Area of Coin Collecting.............

1877 Liberty Seated Dime "Love Token", To Be Worn as a Piece of Jewelry When Given to You by a Loved One...........
002.jpg

Once We Flip It Over to The Reverse Of The Coin You Can see Where the Artist or Silversmith if You Will Engraved The Letters "L" and "C"..................
001.jpg

This Love Token Does have a Hole Drilled in It so it Could Be Worn as a Keepsake Piece of Jewelry...............

I Will Also Leave You the Link so You can Learn More about this Fascinating Area of Collecting.........
http://lovetokensociety.com/history/love-tokens/

For Stokjockey It was a Most Interesting Treasure Hunting Type of Day so Keep Coming Back Often So I can Share a Glimpse of Some of The Other Items I Picked Up..............

If you enjoy content such as this then please feel free to UP Vote........

Follow me here on Steemit @stokjockey

Also Support all of the Silver & Gold Stackers as well as #steemsilvergold !!!

Sort:  

This just more than a Valentine's thing, back when these tokens was serious old fashioned courting gifts.

These were a Big Deal in the Day.............

Like a substitute 'Shiny-sparkling-until-I-save-up-the-cash-for-the-real-ring' Deal.

Or something like that

Posted using Partiko Android

I like love tokens, but I got to like the design. I picked this up last year

20181005_130409.jpg

I Love that @senstless and What I do Is I Keep and Eye on all of The eBay listings to see if any ever Pop up with all of my initials...........It is Really Fascinating how Intricate a lot of these Pieces are..................

I love it! The initials are for L Cali!

I had a Dream last night you would say That............@silversaver888

Now to find a special LC with whom to share this token of love... 💕

I am Sure She is Out There @dfinney...........

That is sweet as all get out!
I could use some love. :)

Everybody Needs a Little Love.............@doctorcrypto

But we all need love.

Hello @stokjockey very interesting, I will be aware of your other publications, thanks...

Thanks I appreciate it............

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63117.29
ETH 2601.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76