Bring 'er Round to Starboard!

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

YAR, me mateys!

image

Feast your wretched pirate eyes on this beauty from Shire Post Mint!

image
So far there are only 9 of these Thaler Pieces of Eight ever made. And there are only 8 that are still whole. They took the first one and broke it up and sent out a piece with the other 8. The piece I got is actually in the 6-7 o'clock spot on top of this Thaler!

image

Whatever process Shire Post Mint uses to make these allows for a very nice clean break.

image

They used a regular restruck Thaler to make them...

image

I'm assuming they use some kind of press as the scored coin is just a tad larger in diameter than my plain Thaler.

image

This was a major impulse buy and way more than I would normally ever pay for something with less than an ounce of silver, but Shire Post Mint included some great extras like these scored coins!

image

They do indeed break apart with minimal effort. After seeing the dime and quarter I really want to see if they might be able to score some pre-64 for quarters me just for shits and giggles...

They also included a few more extras so cool they'll be getting their own post tomorrow!
If you've never checked out Shire Post Mint I highly recommend giving a them look. They make all kinds of unique stuff from various metals. Definitely one of the more creative coin companies out there.

image

Even the cats thought it was cool stuff!

image

Sort:  

That's an interesting coin. I wonder how clean the breaks were when people used them back in the day.

Would you happen to have a link to where you got this from?

https://www.etsy.com/listing/593875077/pirate-pieces-of-eight-coin?ref=shop_home_active_1

Good question... I would imagine the cuts weren't nearly as clean back in the day!

I'm picturing people arguing over pieces that looked or felt a little light.

I think balance scales were pretty common back then, but I'm sure you're right and fights were probably common over that kind of thing!

That is really cool. I have never seen one like that. Thanks for sharing!!!

Yea they make all kinds of cool coins and spinny tops and stuff...

Very cool! Was it real expensive?

Almost 4x spot price haha

Super impulsive, but it's cool and I'm happy with it so money well spent I think.

That seems like a pretty good deal for an ultra rare collector item.

Yea, I'm hoping they don't make many more so that it stays ultra rare 🤣

Very cool stuff thanks for sharing!

My pleasure! Thanks for stopping by!

Oh I'd like this coin. I think I've seen this from JM Engelhard's post on IG already, writing this on my shopping list. So Cool!

I figured you'd dig it! Yea JM shared the original Shire Post IG post of it. Good people over there at Shire Post!

Never seen a coin like that. Sweet!

Its a one... er... EIGHT of a kind! haha

I like this coin a lot. Amazing that they created 9 and sent 1 of 8 from the first out with the other eight. If I saw that advertised, I would have bought that.

I just checked their etsy shop and it looks like they've made another batch and they're still including a piece from another coin!

Really cool! A mini silver pizza.

I think that might be an idea for a future release from Shire Post! They can ship them in little mini pizza boxes! Haha

That is so cool!! may have been an impulse buy but like you said, very limited number available. I don't think I have ever came across a coin design such as this to be breakable by design. I see it's even kitty aproved! Thanks for sharing :)

Yea, I've never seen coins that were made to be as easy to break as this. There's a few bars and rounds out there that are scored into fourths, but from what I've heard they're almost impossible to actually break with just your hands, haha
Yea the cats wouldn't leave it alone.... Trying to pick it up and carry it to who knows where!
Thanks for stopping by!

Shire Post Mint ... nice. I'm telling my relatives where to get me stuff for X-Mas :):):)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64118.79
ETH 3390.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51