My two ancient silver coins

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

I'm a collector of Italian coins prior to the Euro period.

But since I am also an enthusiast of history, I have also bought two very old silver coins, belonging to the period of the Roman Empire. These types of coins are called silver denarius.

The coins represent Marcus Aurelius and Commodus, father and son, two emperors (one in succession to the other) who were at the head of one of the greatest and most glorious empires of all time.

These two characters were also protagonists in the colossal film of 2000 directed by Ridley Scott, "The Gladiator", played by Russel Crowe.

In the film, Commodus (played by actor Joaquin Phoenix) is represented without a beard, while the coin dedicated to him reveals to us that, like almost all the emperors of that period, he too had it.


Marcus Aurelius - Silver Denarius
Marcus Aurelius.png


Commodus - Silver Denarius.
Commodus.png

Sort:  

Nice ! Very old coins . thanks @spiceboyz

I've only seen them in a museum, but I would love to get my hands on one, the original, not the debased denarius.

It is very exciting to handle coins that were circulated 2000 years ago!

Wow, those must cost a pretty penny, but they are in really good shape. Could I ask how you acquired them? Did you find them digging or a collector? Thanks

I bought them in a shop, appraised and with a certificate of authenticity.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62795.57
ETH 2581.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74