Gold Mining

in #steemsilvergold7 years ago (edited)

I've been gold mining for close to 5 years now and a lot of people ask me why I do it. Its more of a labor of love than anything. Working in small scale mining is more about being in the outdoors and finding a little "color" than getting rich. As a small scale miner you just cant move enough dirt to make a living, its more about being in the outdoors and enjoying yourself. Small scale mining isn't about having heavy equipment, rock trucks or giant machines to separate gold from dirt. Its getting your hands dirty and hard work. It has opened up other doors for me though. In 2017 I was left out in the Canadian bush for 6.5 weeks alone to film the Discovery Channel show "Devils Canyon", which was one heck of an experience.
I've been filming my adventures and shenanigans out in gold country for about the last 2.5-3 years. You can check it out on YouTube @ https://www.youtube.com/user/Highway318 to follow along. Here are a few shots some some of the digs.
20171113_100101.jpg

This is what I am talking about when it comes to hard work. All those rocks were moved by hand.
20171113_100042.jpg

One of the biggest payoffs is some of the country you get to see
20171106_120352.jpg

The money shot....a little over 11 grams of gold. At todays prices....$471 for a day of digging.
20170612_180404.jpg

Sort:  

There's Gold in them there hills, thanks for sharing, Do you own this property or just take up space near a winding riverbed downstream from a gold mining operation (past or present)? Thanks

Everywhere I work is public access, albeit VERY difficult to get into so it keeps the "casual" prospectors out. In my area there arent any big operations so any gold I find is what I have clawed out of the ground. But you do have to be careful, a lot of area might be private property so you have to do your homework before even sinking shovel #1 in the ground.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64349.87
ETH 2775.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65