What would it take for you to sell your whole SILVER/GOLD Stack?? #146

in #steemsilvergold7 years ago (edited)

Sometimes my mind wonder's and i overthink things as im sure most if us will do from time to time. Today's deep thought was, what would it take for me to sell my whole stack? to sell every single last piece of my silver stack and few pieces of gold i own. There are many reasons i can think of, i am sure you guys can think of more but the worrying thing is most reasons i can think of are bad things. Our silver/gold stacks are the shtf safety nets we have for just encase. I know that some will stack as an investment, many will stack to preserve wealth and other stack just because it shiny and awesome. In the examples below, these the the few reasons i would sell my stack. It was really hard to think of them as most times, i can always get my hands on a few grand if i really need it through liquid savings, overdraft, p2p lending accounts and my very small shares account. My reasons break down into all my positives are things were i convert into other investments and negatives are things were i lose money.

Time to cash out !!


Positive reasons to sell your stack

  • Your see a rental property that's perfect and need the money quickly to buy house/apartment
  • The silver to gold ratio drops to 40-1 and i start selling off 90% of my silver (i know i said whole stack, but im pulling it hairs here, sharing it my screen for 10 minutes trying to think of stuff)
  • The FTSE 100 are 250 either drops by 50% of all time high. Unlikely to happen but if it did, my milky and cheap bullion would be off the same day to a bullion dealer to be sold at spot and quickly re-invested into tracker funds.
  • Silver and gold go through a bubble which is long overdue. I would sell off small parts of my stack (premium stuff) on the way up and quickly sell the rest (bullion for spot) when the bubble pops. This money would likely be invested into p2p lending earning 6-8% a year until silver and gold drop off and are now bottoming out again.
  • This is the most unlikely to happen but if silver were to really go to the moon and i had enough to start a business. I would start a bakery, i would have 2-3 apprentice's to train up and try to get orders to local 20-30 shops and have a small cafe in the front shop. The cost for me would be 200-400K so its a dream. The reality is silver would need to go to around £250 an oz for that to happen for me, that will never happen and i would almost 100% have already sold off my stack on the way up. I do think i would have the discipline to not sell any.
    IMG_20170801_155031.jpg

Negatives reasons to sell your stack

  • Your broke !!! Something happens were i need alot of money very quickly and dont have time to apply for loans. Maybe the tenants in my flat burn it down are something and the insurance does not pay out. That's the only thing i can think of, in the UK we get free health with the NSH and dentist's are not that expensive either.
  • I lose my job and dont have any main income. I would need to sell off small parts of my stack which would the worst way for me, to watch it melt away infront of my eyes to have to pay for rent, food ect. I would guess i would need to be out of work for 2-3 months before i really had to start selling off any. I dont own any credit cards and have a small £500 free overdraft i can use so i would any have liquid savings.
  • Heaven forbid i get a terminal disease and know that i have a limited amount of time left. I would be forced to sell off my whole stack as the wife would have no idea how the get max value. I dont even like thinking about this one to be honest.
  • This one is not a negative but it is not a reinvestment either. This sell off would be my reason for stacking and would begin to take place in 28 more years. When i am 60 years old, i will take my whole silver stack, divide it into 20 equal piles. Each pile would be then be split into 12 piles to be sold off on eBay are whatever is around then each month. This will provide me will a extra monthly income and hobby from 60 until 80. After that, i will just wing it :)
    IMG_20170731_175613.jpg
    So that is my list of stuff i would sell off my stack for. There's any 9 reasons and alot of them are unlikely to ever happen. What would need to happen are change in your life for you to sell off your whole stack??

U5dr61qgo3LQQKgjUH2XXMso4x6Xd7a_1680x8400.png


UPDATED group membership list !! ********http://steemurl.com/KNi1xAP-
UK Steem coins Group buy (Limted coins left) **http://steemurl.com/xW0jINP4
Getting ready to pull the TRIGGER ********http://steemurl.com/s7vT6EB-
Mike Maloney TOP 10 reasons to buy PMs ****http://steemurl.com/hSdPlcTs

Any questions, comment below are ask. If you enjoyed the post, please dont forget to upvote this and follow me @silverstackeruk.

Silver stackers hashtag #steemsilvergold and grow the silver stacking community

Sort:  

Honestly, I really do not foresee ever totally selling off my stack. I view my stack as "generational wealth" and I fully expect to pass the majority of it my children.

Sure, if there was a SHTF scenario I would dip into it to help my family and friends through the tough times. Personally, I do not believe we will ever hit a true TEOTWAWKI event. The "zombie apocalypse" makes for good sci-fi, but I believe our biggest danger is a disruption of goods and services due to mass social unrest or natural disaster (like Houston or Florida post hurricane).

Also, if PMs were to ever reach their true value ($7,500 gold and a 16:1 G/S ratio), I'd probably sell off a little to take a profit and possibly diversify.

I am currently working with my children to understand our current economic system and it's flaws. I want them to understand the true value of money and how I believe Gold and Silver meet that qualification.

Great comment,

I dont think we will ever see a true SHTF scenario, well not as bad as everyone thinks. I think of it more like silver/golds time to bubble. There are some people claiming that these hurricane's will trigger the next event.
It would be nice to pass on silver but i plan to sell it as a small hobby also. I have planted others seeds for the kids and they have there own stacks :) They still young and dont really get it, but the younger the better i guess. I try to keep it simple and sugar coated

I am 60 and im still stacking, and will carry on as long as im working. It would be great if the stack could be convertd into a smallholding that would allow us to be self sufficient maybe with a sideline in b&b/cycle touring. We were thinking northern France.
i dont want to think of a catastrophic collapse i have daughters your age and grandchildren, i want them to have a good safe life in a better world, i think somehow my stacking delivers just a little bit of sovereignty back to me and mine. We just need to navigate through the chaos the bastards at the top are creating for the world.
Great thoughts , even if id rather not think about it

I do not want to see shit hit the fan, i am prepared better than most and so are you i would guess but im not on any way a prepper. Besides, i would hope that the barking is worse then the bite. Government's would step in and effects might any last a few years at worst until everything evens out. We always over exaggerate when thinking about the worst case.
I say go with the flow, sit back and watch whats happening and make your actions based on what has happened in the past.
Sidelines i think will be important during retirement, not just for money be to keep you active. I think people that work longer life longer.

Great post to make us think again, I would like to say that I am a "never sell your entire holding unless you are exiting the planet, aka-dying" . I am however ready to covert into some gold when the ratio drops below 20/1 . Also when one ounce of silver pays the equivalent of a days of hard labor - so around 200 buckeroos to convert into some real estate, where I can dig my hole for when its my time to exit.
clickthespoon.gif

Good ideas. Very simple.

Simple is good, simple is easy and quick when the time comes.

I'd start thinking of selling my stack at around $100 an ounce.

To reinvest? are enjoy? are both :)

The thought of working for someone else 'til I'm 60, 65, or 70 years old doesn't work for me.

60 is my limit.
Plan early, retire early :)

Its nice just to have the options open. I would like to get my own house one day, ive enough metal for a deposit but i dream about slapping my metal down and pointing to a house saying "that one" I hope you find a way to get your bakery.

I own a 2 bed flat which is rented. I rent the house i live in and do not think i would get another mortgage. I to also have enough for a deposit but would love to keep going to buy a house outright. Its good to have some goals in mind, i hope we both get there buddy :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by silverstackeruk from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 1.56 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63101.67
ETH 2588.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74