My 0.5 Baht gold bar from the Shining Gold Group - Thai Gold


Hello Stackers, today i have been playing about with my silver stack. I was in the stash spot getting something else and while i was there i cracked up one of the monster boxes i use to store everything and that was it, 30 minutes later i got away but not without grabbing this piece to make a post about.

DSC_0251.JPG

This as a wedding anniversary present from my wife 2-3 years back. My wife is from Thailand and has a built-in love for gold. Thai people use gold as a store of value but businesses also use gold as a store of value so it can be used as collateral meaning that it's as good as money. It is very common for Thai people to use gold as collateral for short term loans. These loans can be got from any gold jewelry shop of which there are many. Walking into a Thai gold shop is an amazing experience. They are all pretty much the same shape and size, a single room about 5x5 meters, 3 walls are covered in gold chains (so shinny) and a U shaped glass countertop filled with rings, earrings, and other stuff. I get a semi thinking about it.

DSC_0250.JPG

Thai gold is also measured in Baht and works out at 1 Baht is around half a troy oz. When you buy a chain, for example, you would buy it by weight, so you might get a 2 Baht chain and have a 1 Baht pendant hanging from it. My bar was minted by the Shining Gold Bullion company. Everything you buy from a Thai gold shop comes in a red shade zipped pouch and comes with a certificate.

DSC_0248.JPG

This is a 0.5 Baht bar which is around the same as a 1/4 troy oz or gold sovereign. It contains 96.5% gold and 3.5% other stuff i dont know.

DSC_0252.JPG

This is prob the best wedding present a man like myself could get and the fact that the wife understands gold and maybe even values it more than me is the icing on the cake. The wife deffo has way more gold than me but she too hides her stuff and i only see it when she is wearing it. She spreads more on gold than i do on silver and crypto's put together but i have no idea what she earns, lmao. Anyways, here a picture of the certificate you get and can be used when selling to any jeweler.

DSC_0253.JPG

The gift of Gold :D

Sort:  

I love Thai gold, 23Kt goodness, presented in Baht weights

I've been after a 1 baht chain for a while now but every time i get the money i buy silver, haha

Thanks man

That is a beautiful wedding anniversary present from your wife! Hehehe, I cracked up reading about you not knowing how much she earns and how much gold she has... not that there is anything wrong with that, hehehe! Have a beautiful Sunday, @silverstackeruk, and take care 🌺🤙

Thanks, its my favorite gold piece.

I'll find her stash someday, lol

I like that bar it's shiny

Made by the shinning company :)

So good that you both are on the same page....
Thats a good Silver/Gold page to be on !!😀
Stack on my friend!!!!!

Helps when i gonna buy a huge whack of silver and i need to convince her the same way i do with BTC, lol

Absolutely!!! I got the Mrs picking out “pretty “ Silver rounds. Now she tells me she gets to post on all the buffalo rounds, Gold or Silver Lol!👍🤗
It’s all good my friend 👍😊

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62943.85
ETH 2464.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55