2017 GOLD 200th Anniversary Soverign from the Royal mint #391

This is the first normal sovereign I have ever brought, I own a 2011 half which was gifted to me and I have the 2017 struck on the day which I bought from britcoin on here. This time round, I was placing a silver order and a few thinks i was looking was out of stock so i thought get a sovereign and get myself some gold. 1. It arrived in a small baggie so I had to order a few caps from eBay to keep my new baby safe and secure.
.

.
The gold Sovereign is the Royal Mints flagship coin with over billion sovereign's said to have been minted in its long mintage life. The 2017 has an additional privy mark as an acknowledgement of the 200th anniversary of the modern sovereign. Each coin is struck in 22 carat gold to the weight of 7.988g which has a purity of 916.7 gold totaling to just under a 1/4 oz per coin. These coins are fantastic value for money; they are always closest to spot and by far the easiest to flip when the time comes to sell. The coins diameter is 22.05mm and are shipped in capsules from the mint. If you buy from another source, it is unlikely to arrive in a capsule. I hope someday to fill a tube of these but that is a pipedream at the minute.
.

.
This is one of those special coins that everybody in the UK knows. Most people will have no idea what a silver panda, lunar, kooks ect are, some will know what a Britannia is, but everyone in the UK knows a gold sovereign is worth money. I have messed up my silver stack by buying everything and anything I wanted, now I have a big headache when it comes time to sell and get max premium. With gold, I will try to only stack sovereigns. They are beautiful, cheap to buy, easy to flip and the thought of having 25 sovereign's so I can own a full tube gives me a semi :) I would buy 4 sovereign's over an oz coin/bar anyday of the week.

The coin minted all over the World

The British sovereign has been minted all over the world. Because gold is heavy and transportation has only got easier from planes being invented, it was cheaper to open a new Royal mint refinery in countries that are part of the commonwealth. Below is some information i found about everywhere the coins have minted.



.
London: 1817–1917, 1925, 1957-1974 Royal Mint London was disbanded in November 1975
Llantrisant: 1976 onwards
Melbourne: 1872–1931
Sydney: 1855–1926
Perth: 1899–1931
Bombay: 1918-1919 all dated 1918
Ottawa: 1908–1919
Pretoria: 1923–1932
Delhi: 2013 onwards

Actual Sovereign diameter's

I might be getting the gold bug. Maybe buying some gold in the future will help me with my stackitis. I was diagnosed with the rare disease at Pheli Mint Lab's and they told me i had to get at least 20 oz's a month to keep it at bay. They also advised me buy little and often, this got me worried and explained to the scientist's that my avg per oz would be ruined. They told me to clam down and gave me some silver foil to play with. After i calmed down, the scientists's told me they were working on a cure and needed genie pig's for experiment's. It was alot to take in, they gave me a 1/4oz libertad and sent me on my way. I still have to tell the wife our life's have now changed because to rare disease Stackitish


CLICK HERE TO ACCEPT YOUR INVITE TO THE GROUPS DISCORD SERVER



Some of my Recent Posts

*** #SteemSilverGold Membership and Voting List UPDATES***
------- BLAST from the PAST, Silver stacking memes ------
** Anyone up for a UK Silver group buy, thoughts? **
------ What is Autoflowering weed and why i smoke it ------

Any questions, comment below are ask. If you enjoyed the post, please dont forget to upvote this and follow me @silverstackeruk

Sort:  

I have two old ones and one recent one. The special pistrucci jubilee sovereign version is so nice and so expensive......

I got one of the 2017 stuck on the day sovereigns on here for 390 steem. It was a steal at the time :)

I might look into older ones later, for now i am focused on getting 5 og these first. Small dreams?

I picked up an old one recently (late 1800s). I was surprised at how close to spot you could get them.

Yeah, thats the draw to them. Very cheap and very nice. They are also very easy to sell. I know for fact that i could sell £10K of these over a weekend if needed, just like that.

wow, someone is big timing it ! nice score (-:

Yep, crypto has been good to me the past few months. Check this out, get it the other day.

What the ... don't tell me it has real gold?

If that was real gold, the whole of Steemit would know by now. lol.

I have of too. I did a post on it. These are awesome gold coins. Congrats

Thanks buddy. I hope this is the first of many

I've been looking at these and wondering if they're a good investment vs 9999 bullion.

The Perth Mint have 1918 sovereigns. I'm saving up... just in case I decide I want one. It's either that or a 9999 coin on my list to start my gold stack.

These are very easy to resale and for me are the closest gold i can get to spot. Save up longer and buy both and see what you like best. I mean, if your planning to buy either a 1/4 oz .9999 are a full sovereign. Got a 1/10th oz .9999 and a half sovereign and see which one tickle's your balls best.

But with that said, the bigger the coin the better it is, lol

I agree with buying sovereigns from your country, I do the same with my higher valued pieces or the bulk of my bars and rounds most of them are royal canadian mint stamped for that reason, when It's time to sell, hoping it's easier to get trust for a recognized item backed by local government.

Depending were you are reselling them. With local shops/stores and eBay it will help. Sounds like a good plan.

Thanks for commenting back and taking the time to read my post.

I got my second and third sovs yesterday, an Edward VII and George v

I gonna try and get a few of these ones and then go after some older ones. And 2 sovereigns in 1 day?

Nice bio on that piece man. 👍

Thanks dude,

Gonna try and keep a tidy gold stack, when i have a gold stack. lol

Thanks for your valuable & informative post about steemsilvergold.We can gather enough information & experience by your post.
Thanks For giving this such idea.
I always visit your site & wait for your upcoming post.
@Resteem & follow has been done.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64076.80
ETH 3516.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64