The Eyes (ayes) Have It! [My Silver Dollar Certificates]

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

Some are blue, some are green, some are hazel, mine are brown.
Eyes 5.jpg
Hello, steemians!!!
They say that a person can communicate with their eyes without saying a single word. Some say that a locking of eyes can be all you need to have some understanding of each other. Locking eyes with a stranger is an invitation for them to look at you and perhaps start a conversation. Can you tell what my eyes are saying?

Speaking about eyes, you probably know that the back design of the US dollar bill depicts the reverse and obverse of the Great Seal of the United States.
800px-US-GreatSeal-Obverse.png

The reverse design is the all-seeing eye on top of the pyramid. The pyramid represents strength and duration, and the eye above is a symbol of divine providence, the all-seeing eye being an ancient symbol of divinity.
800px-US-GreatSeal-Reverse.png

My currency collection includes silver dollar certificates.
This is a 1928A first-year issue of the small size $1 silver dollar certificate with the signatures of Wood and Miller. The first silver certificates (Series 1878 to 1923) were the large size silver certificates.
IMG_6182(2).jpg
The back of this silver dollar certificate does not have the Great Seal. It is sometimes referred to as the funny-back dollar.
IMG_6184 (2).jpg

New $1 silver certificates began to be printed in the summer of 1935 which depicted both the reverse (left side) and the obverse (right side) of the Great Seal of the United States. Below are 1935A specimens of successive serial number Blue silver dollar certificate.
IMG_6188.JPG
IMG_6187.JPG

Silver certificates were once backed up by silver bullion and actual silver dollars held by the treasury. This was in part what made it necessary for the US Mint to strike millions of Morgan dollars. Silver Certificates were initially redeemable for their face value of silver dollar coins and later in raw silver bullion. Since 1968 they have been redeemable only in Federal Reserve Notes and are therefore obsolete, but are still valid legal tender and are still an accepted form of currency.

I find these silver dollar notes very interesting and fun to collect.

Please do not forget to upvote and follow me @silversaver888!

Sort:  

Welcome. An excellent first article. We need people talking about notes here because everybody (me included) is very coin and metal oriented.

Hello @ronaldoavelino! Thanks for dropping by. I just followed you! Hahahaha, I noticed that too, so I thought that I would show my notes. Check out my three other post, my friend!

I love silver certificates! I collect them too! That 28A is sweet! And I see you have at least 1 "Godless" note there! (no in God we trust) And you have very pretty eye! It is saying " hi Vessel" 😂 Mine are hazel. Great post my SSFL👊💗

You see, there, we have parallel stacking lives and more! The other eye is the same, LOL, and they are saying more than "hi" to you, my SSFL👊💗! Take care.

Nice notes, I always loved ''funny money'' or ''Green backs.''

I am still learning about these notes. So "greenbacks", eh? Thanks for the info! I just followed you. I appreciate your comment.

What the Hell am I doing UP so late ???

Same as me, I suppose!

I think I have a few Silver Certificates left by my father. I should take them out and have another look at them. And my eyes are bloodshot.

LOL, mine eyes, too, are bloodshot Sis! I have been using fresh tears almost every two hours. Aren't silver certificates so cool? It is a shame that the US is no longer on a PM standard. It caused all the inflation in the world. Thanks for dropping by, Sis.

So nice to see ya on saver. Need my mafia chicks 😀

I am always here for you, Don!

since this is too late to receive payment.... accept my tip please hehehe
@tipu send tip to my pirate friend @silversaver888!!! hehehe

and your eyes are MUCH prettier than my black eyes hahahahaha

so funny that we both are obsessed with eye color!!! LOLOLOL

but if you wore colored contact lenses... i think they would still look so pretty!!! but me...

CYBORG
HAHAHAHAHA

Hi @silversaver888! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dreemsteem!

Protip: you can withdraw your @tipu deposit at any moment without any fees.

I think this is it... ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54358.77
ETH 2293.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30