Krugerrand 1 oz Gold and 1 oz Silver Coin

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

The South African Krugerrand is the first gold coin to contain exactly one troy ounce of pure gold. It is the oldest of the legal tender gold bullion coins. First minted in 1967, gold Krugerrands have a fineness of .9167 or 22K.

Obverse: Depicts the likeness of Paul Kruger, the first and only president of South Africa, with inscriptions “South Africa” in Afrikaans and English.Reverse: 1981 year of minting and Gold weight of 1 oz, and the image of a Springbok antelope, the national animal of South Africa.

The Krugerrand is a classic gold bullion coin and it was in my wishlist of 1 oz gold coins. Knowing that I wanted to have one, a stacker friend in YT reached out to me and offered to sell this 1981 BU Krugerrand. In my desire to help this friend, I agreed to purchase the coin, fully aware that 37 years old coins may not be in the best shape. I was so pleasantly surprised to see the great condition of the gold coin and happy to have acquired a beautiful BU old gold Krugerrand for an amount less than the buy back price of recent year Krugerrands from online dealers.

A Pair of Krugerrands!


See the details of my 1 oz Silver Krugerrand coin on a separate Silver Stacking article here: Silver Krugerrand

Thank you for taking the time to view my article. I hope you enjoyed it and will come again soon! @silversaver888


Sort:  

Kruger rands were boycotted for years in the US and other countries for the apartheids regime.

You are absolutely right, my friend. ❝A setback occurred for this gold bullion coin when, in 1984, the U.S. Congress banned their importation as part of an anti-South African boycott. When South Africa lifted apartheid in 1994, the Krugerrand regained respectability but by then another competitor was firmly established. The American Gold Eagle, first minted in 1986, became the most popular gold bullion coin in the U. S. and internationally.❞ Source: Gold Investing Certified. Yet despite the setbacks, the Krugerrand remains one of the most internationally known gold bullion coins. Thank you for stopping by, and for leaving a comment, my friend. I appreciate it. Have a wonderful day, take care.

Great coin Saver! I have the silver vwrsion and i love it, but the gold Krugerrand sure makes for a great corner-stone piece for any bullion collector.
Great score! And yes, i am a wee bit jelly 😜

Ah... @thedamus, my friend! You can get all the 1 oz gold coins you desire! I think that it is just a decision away, and it is in the circumstance that presents itself, oftentimes without one asking for it. Thank you for stopping by, my friend. Have a great day. Take care and stack on!

Green-Eyed JELLY Monster

🐉 🐲

@silversaver888 I really think the design of the Kruggerand is what makes it so appealing. Its is meaningful but simple which is a winning combination. I do not own either Krugerrand. However I will say your 1 oz of Gold Cpin post help me to stay motivated to saving up for my first one oz gold coin. When the time comes I may have to ask your opinion since gold is not normally my forte. Thanks for sharing and keep awesome!

Keep up with your stacking goals @dwingsworld! You are doing so very good. I am glad that this article motivates you. Then it makes posting it worthwhile. Have a fabulous day, my friend! Keep going, and stay cool! I appreciate you, always!

Some of our members said that they have the silver one but will not buy the gold one, that has the same design. We should buy the gold one because the premium on the silver one is outrageous.

Silver or gold, I buy only if it is affordable for my budget. Your observation is true... the premium on the silver by percentage is outrageous!

I have one of these on my list and that is a 1975 any size just want one and I will be happy

An ounce of gold coins is steep for my budget. On my first year of stacking, I limited myself to 1/10 oz gold coins. Then, I lead myself to believe a gold stacker friend who told me that a one oz gold coin is within my reach, and it is just a matter of a decision to make it happen. So what I did was to lessen my silver purchase a month by half and put aside the cash in an envelope. I even pasted a picture of the gold coin I wanted onto the outside the envelope. It took a lot of patience, but true enough, on my second year, I was able to acquire my dream first gold coin. And then I discovered, that once I acquired my first 1 oz gold coin, the wait for the second 1 oz coin was not as difficult, still very tough for me to do, but doable. I tell you this, not as an advise, but only to share my personal experience and journey. Remain patient with yourself, my friend, and keep going!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Thank you, @ssg-community, for your continued support. I do not know where I will be in steemit without it.

You got a 4.95% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @silversaver888!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

Thank you for sharing this information @silversaver, is it on trading now? sorry to ask you this question

Hello @el-nailul! How are you. It is great to see you here. These coins are available from online bullion dealers, as well as in ebay! Do you collect coins?

I have the silver one. The gold one I doubt that I’d ever buy one. Have a great day Saver.🌹

It will take me my lifetime to get everything in my 1 oz gold wish list. This is the third 1 oz gold coin. But my goal is to keep wealth in the form of gold coins and convert my silver stack to gold someday when it is time. In the meantime, it is the fractional gold that is most affordable for me on a monthly basis. Thank you for being FIRST to comment on this article. I appreciate you, my friend! How many installs are you doing today? Have a fruitful day, and take care.

My gold stack isn’t much. And I don’t have any one ounce coins in gold. The largest I have is a graded gold Walking Liberty Half from the centennial series. I had to have all three of them. I’ve been on the same kitchen install for 4 days now and it’s been exhausting.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Silver Saver from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63626.14
ETH 3107.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87