West Coast Silver!steemCreated with Sketch.

It's time to shine the spot light on a quiet refiner who has started making some noise over the past year. These silver ingots demonstrate a very unique shape with traditional landscape.

West Coast Refining Inc.

I wish I had some more history on this refiner to display in this article. Unfortunatly, there is not much information on them. Collectors and silver enthusiasts are purchasing bar's like this mainly because of the "old pour" look they have. Production of this variety West Coast Refining took place 1970/80s. It sounds silly, but even the simple fact that it says "West Coast" will attract buyers/collectors from the west coast. If your a collector you can relate to that statement. Where people can connect and relate to something. That is what becomes collectable.

Two days ago I recieved my first 25oz class West Coast Refining silver ingot. I have owned the 5oz and 10oz class silver West Coast ingots. This is only the second 25oz example I have seen! For some reason the 25oz class is just not as available as the others. Maybe more were melted down during the high silver price days? Here are some photos below of the 25oz I recieved...

image
Notice the traditional landscape. Odd weight stamp that has purity and hallmark on the face. The finish and hallmark certainly carry that vintage appearance.

image
image
Unique to this 25oz ingot is how "tall" it is. I placed a standard size 10oz Engelhard silver ingot next to the West Coast. It gives you some perspective on what this puppy looks like in hand! Atleast a couple inches tall!
image
A cool photo here that shows the "pig tail" on the side of the bar. A long with the dark patina! This particular piece has the great aged silver look that is hot right now.

After those photos I am sure you can see why these are on the radar. This is just another old pour that is now commanding a strong premium. Five years ago these could be had for a buck over spot. Now a days 5oz are selling for $250. 10oz are selling around $350. The 25oz class are seeing $800+.

The 25oz West Coast I shared photos of above was just added to Allengelhard.com. They do a great job breaking down majority of the top refiners. Including photos, estimated mintages, and sales prices. Below is a screenshot of the 25oz bar featured on Allengelhard.com. Estimated mintage is referenced below at <500.
image

I hope this article was informative. I always try to share information on what is hot in today's market. By breaking down some of the reasons why, along with sale prices. That will help others share the passion👍.

If you enjoyed this article please RESTEEM UPVOTE and FOLLOW!

Follow me on Instagram: collectbulliondotcom

Thank you to @marynessc for the cool banners!
image
image

Sort:  

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

That is one nice vintage piece, your totally getting me hooked on this old stuff!!

For sure a cool piece. Just be aware when you get these in hand there is no turning back!

AWesome silver bar. Cast iron silver pours to me are classic! Thanks for this show. I love it!

They are classic! Thanks @silversaver888

Don't see too many of these, I think I've seen one (NFS, of course) on IG and no where else yet. Nice find!

Cool eye on IG. I purchased this off my friend who did post it on IG! Mooneymetals. Is that where you saw one ?

IG seems to be the place for obscure vintage silver bars to show up. Bars that I have never heard of before. They certainly have character, especially those with the pigtails.

@kerrislravenhill for sure IG has some of the core collectors. When I first joined it wasn't like that. It was all about silver stacking. Now it's got a great mix. A lot of fun and some great deals!!

@silveringots very cool representation and as you said anything people can relate too they will collect. Love the height on this bar. Thanks for the post!!

The height on this bar is what got me! Thanks @dwingsworld!

This bar has a special appeal to me. It is like an old, stern and lovely uncle.

Lol that's an interesting point of view! I agree!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62685.52
ETH 2436.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51