$2 Silver Certificate - US Bank NotesteemCreated with Sketch.

It's important to touch on other collectible markets. Even if doesn't involved physical silver. Silver certificates are close enough for me. I do not consider myself to be a dedicated currency collector. I've purchased many of the more common silver certificates. Mainly to put away for my kids. Feels like that's the right excuse to use anyways? God that's bad...

I recently ran across an 1899 2$ silver certificate. Also known as a mini-porthole. I did not own one and figured it was THAT TIME. These notes are referred to as "mini-portholes" because it looks like George Washington is observing the viewer from inside a port hole. The $5 silver certificate is called a port-hole. The $2 being less in value was assigned the "mini" prefix.

The currency market is very interesting. I am just getting my feet wet as this point. But, as I step further into the water the notes are getting more expensive. The quality of notes I am getting into now have some amazing detail. I can see why there are so many currency collectors. Even the feel of the note in hand just screams history. If only these notes could talk...🤐.

Below is a photo of the 1899 "mini-porthole" I purchased:
image
image
image
Old US currency and vintage silver ingots sure so look great together!
image
👆Here is an article I found that offers historical information regarding the 1899 "mini-potholes".

Information was sourced from www.antiquemoney.com.

Feel free to let me know if you enjoyed this article. I would like to touch on US currency every once and a while as I continue collecting.

If you enjoyed this article please RESTEEM UPVOTE and FOLLOW!

Follow me on Instagram: collectbulliondotcom
image
image

Sort:  

It's nice to not have all your eggs in one basket (so to speak). Diversifying is the key to a successful portfolio. I'm sure the kids will appreciate it 😉 I use the same excuse myself lol

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

I don't have much paper in my collection but like the look of the old money. Maybe some day I'll get some for my "kids" also. LOL

@vgholdingsllc it's fun to buy the silver certificates and just stash them away. Cheap money too. I love them. I mean my kids love them..

Man thats one pretty pic of vintage goodness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63635.72
ETH 2597.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91