Size doesn't always matter!?steemCreated with Sketch.

I've enjoyed going outside the box a little bit lately. Today I opened up a few draws that haven't seen the light of day in a while. As I was looking for the next topic to discuss here. That's when I realized that I have quite the interest in pendants!

Majority of the larger refiners at one time produced a type of pendant that carries a more personal or even collectable value. With that value usually comes a premium. I see it being similar to the jewlery market. How often are you able to actually wear a silver or gold bar on you 24/7? That is exactly what these pendants are! Small silver and gold bars!

The photos below are of smaller pendants produced by a variety of refiners. They are all good examples of vintage collectable pendants in their own ways. . .
image
Full group shot of 3- 5gram and 1-10g silver pendants. As well as a 2gram gold pendant.

image
Here is a clear favorite of the group. 5 gram Engelhard silver pendant that has some stellar toning. Estimated mintage of <5000. Demonstrated in origional presentation box with 'show' chain. I have only ever seen one like this. It also had the origional COA.

image
Harringtons Metallurgist PTY 10gram silver pendant. They were small refiner who operated out of Australia. I collect their silver ingots. This was a must have for me. I bought this directly out of Australia.

2gram gold PAMP SA is a beautiful piece presented in the origional assay card. Pamp gold has always stood out. For me, the detail in this piece really pushes it over the top. I also enjoy the oval shape...

image
image
Two 5gram EKRU Bonti silver pendants. Both accompanied by origional COA and velvet booklet. Here is a smaller refiner that operated out of my home state in the 1980s. Not only my home state but my hometown!! A unique opportunity for me to aquire something close to home that falls into my passion.

I hope this showed a different side to the collectible silver/gold market. There are many layers involved! I intend to peel them back here on Steemit and offer as much information as I can. This type of information allows us to invest properly. Also! As these pendants show..... Size doesn't always matter.....

If you enjoyed this article please RESTEEM UPVOTE and FOLLOW!

Follow me on Instagram: collectbulliondotcom

image
image

Sort:  

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Sweet E pendent, your safe is like a magicians hat. You just keep pulling out more and more goodies. Lol Keep sharing buddy.

Lol that's @firecajun9262. We are just getting started 👍

I wonder if they were ever worn by anyone? Love the unique stuff you pull out !

I wonder the same thing! Thanks @senstless!

Awesome set of pendants I have to say!! That Engelhard is fantastic, however I think my favorite belongs to Bonti silver pendants. Why you may ask, but it really is very simple. The link to not only your home state but your town is amazing. These two pieces have such a rich connection to you and who you have become that it is really unbelievable. Just think what the odds are that in the town where you grew up to become a silver stacker there would be a mint that produced beautiful pieces you would come to enjoy. Thanks for sharing!!

Well said. The Bonti pendants have great value in my eyes. I almost died when someone said they were produced in same town! That's why this is so much fun though. @dwingsworld

Nice, bars you can wear around your neck. These remind me a little bit of the gold Egyptian cartouches some people wear.

Nothing cooler than wearing a bar around your neck😎

I never thought about collecting pendants and you just opened my mind to it. Every day I learn something new in our amazing community. Thanks.

@ronaldoavelino glad you were able to look at it that way. That comment alone makes this article a success!

@silveringots I have gotten behind over the last couple of days. I need to catch UP again..............

Hi there. I have just listened to your interview on discord and it was very insightful. I am just getting into the silver market as I am crap at saving cash and silver seems harder for me to sell than crypto or fiat. After I have stacked enough, I would like to begin trading it. I would like to ask your advice. Is it wise to buy silver ingot/coins/pendants etc without there being a certificate? I have recently purchased 2 silver coins and while I am 100% on one of them, The other I am not sure of. Also there is a 1 Troy ounce of silver ingot at my local pawn shop. It is on sale for about £80. I'm sure that is over priced but maybe it is a collectable item. Glad to see another stacker on steemit :)

@article61 Thanks for the feedback on the interview! I would say the best silver to buy is 10oz generic silver bar's. For example Royal Canadian Mint, Scottsdale Stackers, and even generic Engelhard/Johnson Matthey. 10oz silver bar's are the most popular for stackers as well as collectors. Easiest to sell as well. Just make sure you get a recognized name. Hope this answers your questions. Feel free to message me on discord @collectcryptodotcom.

Thanks bud. That is all good info and well appreciated.

@article61 to be more direct about buying with out certificates. That is fine as long as it is a reputable name. I have an article on steemit discussing a precious metal verifier. That is portable and does quick readings. I would need to see the 1oz to tell if it is collectable or not. Feel free to send a photo anytime!

Thank buddy. I will send you some pics soon. I certainly need to find a way to test my coins. Thanks

DSC07344.JPG
Here are the 2 coins I have

I just remembered what it was I actually needed to ask you. Do you know of a company called "mintbuilder" they offer some form of pyrymid scheme. Normally I wouldn't go near something like this but the guy who approached me is legit. You pay a £200 registration fee(per year) and then you get reduced price top Quality silver. You also earn from finding new members as well as selling the metal. There is also a monthly subcription(Which sounds dodgy, I know) for this £94, you get sent 1 coin every month(The ones shown to me have been MF coins and great designs. They also offer PF coins which I have been told are quite collectable. Here is a link to a post I did, asking this question to steemit(Didn't get much response) https://steemit.com/mintbuilder/@article61/mintbuilder-com-buying-silver-and-gold-for-bitcoin-and-maybe-sbd-steem-if-you-think-it-s-good-for-steemit

@article61 I am familar with that company. I watched a sales pitch trailer for it once. I just hate all pyramid schemes there is hardly any opportunity to really make it work. There is always a "catch". If you start hunting for silver hard enough. You can actually find it under spot price. It happens everyday. Personally I would stand clear. That is my opinion though.

Thank you and my brain says your right, just a bit of an optimist lol. I have a trip to Nottingham center tomorrow and there are a few good antique/2nd hand shop that might be worth a look. Thanks again for all the advice and I am sure we will speak again. Happy hunting

Look what I found today :) I got it for £50 solid silver 8cm x 8cm Ive written a post where folk can guess the weight(I have no idea myself yet) You win half the post pay-out :)
silvercig.jpgScreenshot-2018-5-23 1937 ENGINE TURNED SOLID SILVER CIGARETTE CARD CASE For Sale in Enderby, Leicestershire Preloved(2).pngsilvercig2.jpg

Wow that's sweet. Looks like it may have some British hallmarks on the inside of the case.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64284.72
ETH 2650.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79