New Discovery Down Under .....

Australian Bullion Company PTY LTD also known as 'ABC' are the most highly regarded and recognized brand in Australia. They have been refining and trading precious metals since 1978. Early production ABC silver and gold ingots have taken on a market of their own. They all carry the trademark ABC logo! I am going to present a variety of early production ABC silver ingots below. I do not own these three bar's.
image
1oz ABC Silver Ingot Retail- $100.00
image
100g ABC Silver Ingot Retail- $300.00
image
1 Kilo ABC Silver Ingot Retail- $850.00

Above, are early production ABC silver ingots. I do not have any information regarding the mintage but they are with out a doubt rare. I have suggested some retail pricing that is soley based off my knowledge in buying and selling these exact ingots. I believe majority of the collectible material manufactured out of Australia is undervalued. The Australian market does not have the demand for vintage silver collectable like the United States and Canada. Dealers out of Australia are shipping silver to the US for much more affordable prices then we can buy it here for. As Opportunity seems be with the old poured silver that's $30 an ounce for larger 20oz - 1kg bars. Once this material dries up. The market will call for stronger premiums.

Now to the fun part. One of my dealers in Australia emailed me a week ago with a very unique ABC silver ingot. One that I have never seen before! Aside from the unique weight stamp. It also has some amazing lines and deep dark natural patina. To any strong collector this really STANDS OUT!
image
image image image

At this time I believe this is the only known ABC 110 gram silver ingot. To me, it looks like each digit of the 110 was individually hand stamped. As opposed to the number 100 punch die they used on the standard weight production pieces. I have seen a hand full of standard weight 100 gram ingots. I do not own one at this time but have in the past.

Aside from the ABC company information. I want this article to also present what modern collectors are acquiring. This is kind of information is not readily available. Hence why I find it important to offer this type of content to the precious metal community. This could provide oppurtunities for someone who stumbles across stuff like this to make quick money on a flip. As well as offer some direction for future investment.

Photos of the first three imagines on this article came from a Google photo search of "ABC silver bars." I do not own any of those.

If you enjoyed this article please RESTEEM UPVOTE and FOLLOW !!

Follow me on Instagram: collectbulliondotcom
Shout out to @marynessc for the banners!
image
image

Sort:  

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Wow, these are so damn cool. They would blow my buddy @ejr mind. He’s really into these vintage bars. Did you buy the 110gram one?

Yes, @phelimint I did buy the 110g. What a beauty!

It really is, I love the toning on it, you have quite a treasure there!

That is the first time that I see a 99.98% bar. How old are these?

that is a unique feature on these. The older style bar's have many different purity stamps. (Which is one small thing that makes them fun). These bar's are late 1970s early 1980s.

Hey, that's something I haven't seen before. I think you're right that the 110 was stamped individually as the second 1 looks like it's higher than the first. If so, it would be a unique bar. Hopefully you're able to make some good money off it if you decide to sell.

Yes, agreed on the number stamp height difference. I am for sure in the money on this one. It's a full package piece. I would suggest a retail price of $550. I am going to hold this one for a while though.

That's smart. Especially if there's going to be a stronger market for it later, it makes sense to hold onto it for now. See what happens when the supply dries up.

Yes. It could also be a huge bust and the market gets saturated or people dont have the money to spend. Similar to the recession of 2007.

Wouldn't that be wonderful if there were another recession and the prices dropped below $10? I would love that. I think I would spend all my spare tie finding whatever work I could so that I could load up on silver. Although I know a lot of people would lose a lot, so it's hard to wish for that.

I'm kinda torn. I don't want people to experience hardship and potentially lose a lot of money, homes, cars, etc.

I just know that I came to the stacking game a little late and I'd love to add some serious weight to it. Lower prices could help a lot with that. Doing my whole experiment with going to the bank and searching rolls for silver, it makes me think that those people who were around in 1965 and 1966 had it easy. They just went to the bank and ended up coming back with tons of free silver, sometimes literally! Oh, well. Plenty of missed opportunities. Can't dwell on them, just have to move past them and see what opportunities lie in the future.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62094.36
ETH 2436.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50