New Addition to the FORD COLLECTION !

My focus in collecting silver ingots has shifted over the years....

I have posted a few articles here on Steemit that discuss the John J Ford Jr. Collection. Which consisted of a hoard of silver bar's that John J Ford Jr. claims he purchased during the 1950s while traveling around the United States. Some of the silver ingots in the hoard lack history and credibility outside John J Ford Jr's personal recollection. This bring up scrunity in regards to authenticity. None the less, John J Ford Jr sold his collection for 10s of millions of dollars through private auction houses. Resulting in a title as one of the nation's leaders in numismatics.

Over the past couple years I have been acquiring silver ingots that came out of the John J Ford Jr. Collection. Yesterday, I recieved a new addition - Nevada Silver Co. 5.03oz silver ingot.
image
☝️An early production characteristic demonstrating a $ value. Where the weight in silver reflects the spot price of silver at that time. There has been no historical documentation confirming the existence/operations of Nevada Silver Co. Making this a fun mystery 😅.

image
☝️A close up here showing the 'grid' texture present on the ingot. The 'skin' of the ingot. It has been seen on several other examples. Assumed to be created from a specific production practice. Not ALL of the examples have this.

image
☝️The reverse side showing 'grid' style. It's important to note the words Fine, Silver, and 999 purity are stamped in random locations. Almost every ingot is unique in some kind of way. Silver has been seen stamped on the edges. The word Fine has been seen on both obverse and reverse sides.

image
☝️A comparison photo demonstrating a mold change. The new addition Nevada is the more common larger size. Versus the rare smaller more compact variety. Also, notice how the circular hallmark is centered on one example. While others can be off center.

I honestly can't get enough of these Nevada Silver Co. silver ingots. The direct link to one of the most memorable hoards in numismatic history puts my in this mind set. I can only think about where this market will be in 20-30yrs. When I am able to hand these to my children and share these stories. I believe by that time they will be beyond untouchable. They are almost at that point NOW!

If you enjoyed this article please RESTEEM UPVOTE and FOLLOW!

I published this article using the ESTEEM app on my android mobile device. Quick and easy!

Follow me on Instagram: @collectbulliondotcom
image
image

Sort:  

hey @silveringots ,
i want to know that , how can i become a member of #steemsilvergold ??
today is tried to buy copper level upvote ...the bot auto refunded my liquid steem ....
please tell me the way so i can join this great community .

Great question! You need to be "sponsored" by a current member. Then I believe there is a type of voting process. The content you post on Steemit should involve precious metals. Obvioisly interest needs to be there. Let me see if I can help you with this. Thanks for inquiring @steallion

so i need to regular post on precious metals ???

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63768.98
ETH 3410.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49