How to store your precious metal..

I believe it's necessary to relay information that has been kindly explained to me at one time or another. That is really the only way to educate and help a community grow.

I was staring at my desk thinking of an interesting topic to discuss in this article. As I looked down, this is what I saw....
image

It hit me right then. A question that I have been asked quite is bit is. How do you store your silver ingots?

As you can see in the photo above. Every single ingot I own is kept in a small zip lock. I found these in a arts and crafts store. Im sure the local gas station might offer the "drug dealer" nickel and dime bags as well. Those work too! But anyways..I find that the zip lock offers a thin protective layer that prevents scratching. Allows for easy stacking or sorting. As well as being able to identify each ingot no problem, because of the clear plastic. I have heard that plastic can enhance toning on silver. Not sure how true that is but it would be convenient if so.

Here is a photo of the bags and the dimensions. The 2x3 fit 10oz ingots like a glove! 5oz fit well. The 2x2 are great for 3oz and under.
image

Now, if you have OCD issues like myself and want a step up for larger ingots. They sell these larger zip lock bags that have a layer of bubble wrap around it. They are great to stack and prevent any banging that could cause dings and scratches. That does happen when stacking larger bars. The bubble wrap acts like a thin layer of padding. Great for 20oz- some 50oz ingots.
image

I hope this article was helpful to stackers and collectors. I feel that this kind of thing adds a layer of pride to someone's stack no matter what it is! Having silver or gold in a nice tight zip lock looks bad @$$!!
image

In the comment section please feel free to discuss any interesting storage methods you use. I am always interested in learning new things🤜🤛.

If you enjoyed this article please RESTEEM UPVOTE and FOLLOW!

Follow me on Instagram: collectbulliondotcom

Cheers!

Sort:  

Keeping it safe and secure...............................my precioussssssssss!
:-)

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

I have so many of those bags. I use them to store everything lol.

@firecajun9262 it just makes everything look so much better. Plus it's fun..🤘

I store my coins in capsules unless they in tubes or rolls. Then in these bags to stop the capsules getting scuffed etc. Not everyone needs a bag though just every other one. As I keep them in the box the capsule came in as has dividers. with some anti-tarnish strips. they work great to stop toning.

Wow nice set up! Can't go wrong with the capsules. Anti tarnish strips are interesting 👍.

The strips do work, They do need changing but that does depend on how often you open whatever it's airtight in. A friend smokes in one room in his house and he had some coins he had just sitting there on the table and In a short time they toned on one side almost gold in colour, I should have taken a pic and I have 3 handing coins myself. that been out for 2 years now, handled every day and they nowhere near as toned. so the environment does have a lot to do with it as well. smoking must add more sulphur to the air as thats what really makes the coins tone. The strips as far as i know remove the sulphur. so I think if it's sealed and you don't open for years should be as new.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59559.24
ETH 2523.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42